Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
1 year, 3 month VPN.SH review
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

1 year, 3 month VPN.SH review

lukesUbuntulukesUbuntu Member
edited March 2015 in Reviews

So i was meant to do my 1 year review on VPN.SH 3 months ago and never got around to it, so this is my 1 year, 3 month review of VPN.SH.

Overall

I switched from proxpn to vpn.sh due to there locations and speeds , and well been at university there pricing was darn cheap too...
I was bit worried at the start due to the price it wouldn't be stable but a 1 year & 3 months im satisfied with my £4.32GBP purchase.
(can't find any of there latest deals.)

i mainly use OpenVPN client daily on phone & at university, not sure on the device limit per account but i have 2 - 3 devices on at the same time fine.

Locations

For locations they provide a total of 18 locations , i mainly use NZ,Aussie,LA & Seattle haven't really tried the others locations but for the ones i use Speeds are great and down time is very rare. (They currently added backup servers for New Zealand & Aussie & maybe more)

Support

Support hasn't been the greatest at the start, there were issues with un-answered tickets but from what i read they were resolved and extra staff added, the last 9 months i have had no issues with support with timely response.
I also found @liamwithers went the extra mile to help out when my university was blocking UDP on a port, he was able to sort me out with another connection option.

I give them 5 stars and i recommend to try them

Thanked by 1VPNsh

Fullstack dev Fb | Github

Fan of VPSDime & BuyVM & now QuickPacket

Comments

  • is it a paid review? i dont use them but from what i read ... vpn.sh isnt that good as u wrote

    Thanked by 2Riz roykem
  • tommytommy Member

    looks like yes :D since so many backlink to vpn.sh

    Let's bet which dot-name will collapse first ;)

  • @namhuy said:
    is it a paid review? i dont use them but from what i read ... vpn.sh isnt that good as u wrote

    how can that be a paid review? its based on my experience and money i pay them. I've seen reviews on them and well i didn't have a bad experience and they don't have a referral system so i have nothing to gain.

    Fullstack dev Fb | Github

    Fan of VPSDime & BuyVM & now QuickPacket

  • To be honest, I think their service is atrocious. The fact that I wasn't even able to connect to half of their servers after they put out their 1GBP promotion was a major let-down for me. Why advertise so many locations if half of them don't work?

  • lukesUbuntulukesUbuntu Member
    edited March 2015

    i only use NZ,Aussie,LA & Seattle locations due to latency, with OpenVPN client so can't comment on other locations.

    Fullstack dev Fb | Github

    Fan of VPSDime & BuyVM & now QuickPacket

  • Many of their locations not working. No one carry about.

    Yes, I can boogie

  • VPNshVPNsh Member, Provider

    Thanks for the review @lukesUbuntu. To clarify this is not a paid or requested review.

    To those mentioning issues with the service, all that was in the past and everything has been running smoothly for quite some time now. If you still have accounts, please use the latest OpenVPN files/IP's that we provide and I'm confident you'll see that the service runs without issue.

    I won't hide and say that it hasn't been a rocky road, but everything has been looking good for months now, and appears to be staying that way.

    Thanked by 2Zen lukesUbuntu

    VPN.sh - Secure and Affordable VPN services - £9.99/year, Unlimited Bandwidth, 20+ Countries - Order Link

  • I never used it will read reviews and feedback before deciding to use it or have try

  • SadySady Member

    Am I blind to see their ~2-3 months downtime mentioned in your thread when they were buried somewhere & not replying anywhere?

    PAID REVIEW, period.

    Thanked by 1yomero

    I don't have any relation/affiliation with any LET Host, All of my comments are my own
    Simple bash script to clean compromised wordpress site [cPanel/WHM specified]

  • jarjar Provider
    edited May 2015

    @Sady said:
    Am I blind to see their ~2-3 months downtime mentioned in your thread when they were buried somewhere & not replying anywhere?

    PAID REVIEW, period.

    I can't even think of a reason why Liam would pay for a review. With the promos he does, he'd have to take a loss on like a hundred clients for two years to pay anyone a reasonable sum for a review.

    Bad reviews do not automatically mean that a company has 100% dissatisfied customers. That is a false notion that websites like this have taught you to think. People are much faster with the keyboard to announce complaints than they are a service that works fine.

    The service has clearly had some well defined problems in the past, but anyone using a location that remained up probably never noticed a problem. Nothing wrong with giving credit for what didn't break, there's plenty of info here about what did :)

  • RizRiz Member

    After he sold all of those 1EU plans I was told that the problem was on my end, then that it would be fixed, followed by being ignored. I would avoid vpn.sh.

  • I decided to give them a shot when they had one of their many promos going on (I believe it was the 150GB £2/year plan), and not once did anything ever worked for me. I thought it was on my end since it was my first time using OpenVPN, but it turned out many people had the same problems that I did. After months of issues and excuses/empty promises from them that never amounted to anything, I got fed up and canceled. Glad to hear that it seems to be working at last, but I personally will never try their services again.

  • ricardoricardo Member

    Worth referencing: http://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/22638/vpn-sh-not-well

    TL;DR, service was interrupted for an 'inexcusable' amount of time. 2nd chances aside, I'd avoid this, regardless of price.

    Thanked by 1yomero
  • RizRiz Member

    I recon while I had problems he was pushing another vpn company through another brand and trying to sell dedicated IPs as well.

  • 17brownj17brownj Member, Provider

    I have had problems with his other brand fixedroute. I bought a promotion on April 4th and never received it. Opened 2 tickets and contacted him on here and it's been ignored. Oh well I guess :/

    InspireShared Starting at only $4/year in US & EU!

  • TarZZ92TarZZ92 Member

    looks like VPN.SH are in old times. no one pays for per so many GB these days it's all unlimited (or high usage)

    I AM BACK :)
    Working Windows Server 2012 R2 on 6GB! Beat that!

  • souensouen Member

    Cautiously optimistic here.

    Fwiw, the various issues last year are well-recorded in the thread linked above and I also posted my negative experience back in October. To resume from there, around late October-November, the owner became active again, and over the course of about a week, via PM on LET he got the locations I requested back online.

    Since November the service (at least for CA and CH which I use regularly) seems to have stabilised. Last month there was a little blip at one of the locations that probably lasted several hours, and was working again when I retried a day later. Aside from that I haven't had any problems lately.

  • switsysswitsys Member

    @liamwithers :


    I use your latest OpenVPN files/IP's, and I've managed to use all in 'AllLocations' except Sweden.

    <!>

  • xsetxset Member

    @liamwithers Please get your support guys answer my support tickets. I have requested
    updates but nobody answers. I have raised the tickets over 1 month ago. Gives a bad picture about your support.

  • NekkiNekki Moderator

    @xset said:
    liamwithers Please get your support guys answer my support tickets. I have requested
    updates but nobody answers. I have raised the tickets over 1 month ago. Gives a bad picture about your support.

    Sounds like a familiar story...

    Here lies Nekki. He loved massive amounts of storage, K-Pop and calling people cunts.

  • I'm due to renew 2 services within a week and not getting any response from tech support. I sent a message a month ago to see if they were still around, but nothing. Think I'll save my $$!

  • gonggogonggo Member

    got an email, look like they're running a promo

  • BuyAdsBuyAds Member

    I got a reply on my ticket after 2 months.

    Buy Site Ads - Advertising Platform

  • aoleeaolee Member

    I use vpn.sh but I'm not a heavy user, so I can burn a £1, unless someone can recommend an alternative for a £1 vpn?

  • @aolee said:
    I use vpn.sh but I'm not a heavy user, so I can burn a £1, unless someone can recommend an alternative for a £1 vpn?

    Yeah, £1 is a really good deal for less heavy usage, plenty of locations and speeds are okay.

  • fitvpnfitvpn Member

    How to review if none from locations working for now? But they keep push a new promos ;;

    Yes, I can boogie

  • erkinerkin Member

    @fitvpn said:
    How to review if none from locations working for now? But they keep push a new promos ;;

    How can you be that sure about none from locations being working? Seems like a biased comment.

    Thanked by 1TheKiller

    0% chance of trolling in posts.

  • 4n0nx4n0nx Member

    aolee said: I use vpn.sh but I'm not a heavy user, so I can burn a £1, unless someone can recommend an alternative for a £1 vpn?

    £1 per what? Decade? Century?

    (((o(゚▽゚)o))) If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy. (((o(゚▽゚)o)))

    ヽ(`Д´)ノ Everyone should run Tor on their idle servers.

  • tr1ckytr1cky Member

    They are still working with the NSA, they didn't reply to my letter about whether they received a NSL.

    Thanked by 14n0nx

    tsdns.io - free, redundant, DDoS-protected TSDNS

  • NeoonNeoon Member
    edited June 2015

    Dont, not even in a fucking decade go to VPN.sh.

    They resolving there VPN servers over DNS, it was broken for more as a week. Not a single server was usuable, bullshit.

  • @Infinity580 said:
    Dont, not even in a fucking decade go to VPN.sh.

    They resolving there VPN servers over DNS, it was broken for more as a week. Not a single server was usuable, bullshit.

    Which locations are not working for you?

  • VPNshVPNsh Member, Provider

    @Infinity580 said:
    Dont, not even in a fucking decade go to VPN.sh.

    They resolving there VPN servers over DNS, it was broken for more as a week. Not a single server was usuable, bullshit.

    I personally have had to take some time away from VPN.sh for a while (long story, not the sort of thing for LET), and was only notified of this recently and it's now been resolved.

    Just a quick update on how things stand as of posting (some of these are in response to points raised above):

    Yes, we're running a promo. If you haven't had an answer to a support ticket, please PM me your ticket ID and I'll get it seen to. Everything at FixedRoute is up to date. One Australia location, one Japan location and one New Zealand location (of which we have more than 1 in each location) have been turned off for a couple of days, and we'll put them back online next week. Everything else is running smoothly, and (other than the aforementioned DNS issue) we've had no issues with the actual service and our locations for quite some time.

    I'd like to highlight that this is not a paid review.

    If anybody has any issues with the service as of right now, please do contact us via a support ticket, and I can assure you that it will get responded to. I'm currently in the process of moving house, and so response times may be a little slow over the next few days, but rest assured, tickets will get seen to.

    VPN.sh - Secure and Affordable VPN services - £9.99/year, Unlimited Bandwidth, 20+ Countries - Order Link

  • aoleeaolee Member

    @4n0nx said:
    £1 per what? Decade? Century?

    they offer £1 / year

  • 4n0nx4n0nx Member

    aolee said: they offer £1 / year

    Ah thats pretty cheap then.

    But this:

    tr1cky said: They are still working with the NSA, they didn't reply to my letter about whether they received a NSL.

    How can one choose vpn.sh knowing that? O.o

    (((o(゚▽゚)o))) If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy. (((o(゚▽゚)o)))

    ヽ(`Д´)ノ Everyone should run Tor on their idle servers.

  • ricardoricardo Member
    edited July 2015

    £1

    Is cheap, but consider adding in the 'why isn't this working / check random things / is it worth submitting a ticket' amount of time.

  • tommytommy Member
    If you haven't had an answer to a support ticket, please PM me your ticket ID
    

    You said that everytime you back.

    Thanked by 2namhuy netomx

    Let's bet which dot-name will collapse first ;)

  • @Sady said:
    Am I blind to see their ~2-3 months downtime mentioned in your thread when they were buried somewhere & not replying anywhere?

    PAID REVIEW, period.

    I have been using it last year, such a disgrace. All I get nothing but throwing my $$ to hell. Never ever use this service

  • I've used VPN.sh as well as their FixedRoute service.

    Tickets go answered/unresolved, I've had billing issues, half of the time (if not more) it just hasn't worked, etc.

    Overall, I wouldn't recommend any of their services given my experience. From my perspective, they owe me money since I paid a bill and they never restored my service.

    I'm also a customer of SlickVPN.com, and even that raging tire fire of a service is about 1000x better than VPN.sh. At least there's always a server I can connect to with SlickVPN.

    There's no cost-based justification for VPN.sh or FixedRoute. You get less than you pay for.

  • I have their £1/year 1000GB plan. Works great, as I only need it for browsing some blocked websites and it works well most of the time.

  • WilliamWilliam Member, Provider

    TheKiller said: and it works well most of the time.

    Not really promising... such a service should have at LEAST 99.5% availability.

    Thanked by 2netomx TheKiller
  • Do they have India location?

  • @Gerrard8 said:
    Do they have India location?

    No.

  • @TheKiller said:

    Edit: They do have India location.

  • Is they support dns leak protection?.

  • NekkiNekki Moderator

    @Trollburn said:
    Is they support dns leak protection?

    They don't even support the basic service working as far as I can tell, let alone anything else.

    Here lies Nekki. He loved massive amounts of storage, K-Pop and calling people cunts.

  • SpicyPepperSpicyPepper Member
    edited August 2016

    The previous review was funded by VPN.sh

  • stasistasi Member
    edited August 2016

    @KettyMitchels said:
    VPN is used for encryption and to access geo-blocked content

    bruh, are you that guy who sends me awesome seo offers for my sites?

  • UrDNUrDN Member

    It's always fun to read on the index page:

    Many websites use your IP address to try to understand more about you, and share this information with other websites. This can result in companies knowing far more about you than you'd like them to.

    When this same page leaks information to google and use non-free javascript.

    www.urdn.com.ua - ISP in Ukraine.

  • jvnadrjvnadr Member
    edited August 2016
    Thanked by 1jar
  • IshaqIshaq Member, Provider

    Fixed.

    Thanked by 1jvnadr
    [BudgetNode] DDoS Protected. 7 Locations (US/EU). Check out our latest offer!
Sign In or Register to comment.