Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

Latest LowEndBox Offers

    Kimsufi access blocked - Sky Broadband (UK)
    New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

    Kimsufi access blocked - Sky Broadband (UK)

    Domin43Domin43 Member
    edited August 2016 in General

    Why on earth would Sky Broadband block access to kimsufi. Can anyone else confirm.. here's a pic:

    It mentions phishing and malware but no sign on ovh twitter. For those not aware sky broadband is one of the biggest isp in uk.

    Thanked by 1GCat
    «1

    Comments

    • doghouchdoghouch Member
      edited August 2016

      This would be funnier:

    • Kimsufi sale is to cheap.
      Please stay away i think ;).

      It seems it has been reported and been blocked i am running between a firewal too and i get blocked to by the same reason.

      |post4vps| for a free vps for your developement| me |

    • Haha i only just noticed that. Guess it's for everyone

    • GCatGCat Member

      Thanked by 1busbr

      My comments are mine and mine alone, and do not reflect the opinion of my business

    • rm_rm_ Member

      Why do you allow your ISP to mess with your traffic? That's like creating a China GFW for yourself voluntarily. Or if you have no option to turn that shit off, change ISPs ASAP.

    • LeeLee Member

      BT had also blocked it for some reason, think they have unblocked it now though.

      It's better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than open it and remove all doubt

    • Regardless if they want to show it or not all traffic is logged in uk. GCHQ love our data, now I don't give a shit if they see my habits but i get the principle.

      @rm_ said:
      Why do you allow your ISP to mess with your traffic? That's like creating a China GFW for yourself voluntarily. Or if you have no option to turn that shit off, change ISPs ASAP.

    • MikeAMikeA Member, Provider

      That Sky logo is incredibly ugly.

      Thanked by 1netomx
    • @rm_ said:
      Why do you allow your ISP to mess with your traffic? That's like creating a China GFW for yourself voluntarily. Or if you have no option to turn that shit off, change ISPs ASAP.

      Sky is shit. It's known all across the UK, sadly the only main competitor is Virgin Media which is also shit. Then we have the little guys like TalkTalk or BT which are also shit.

      The UK in general is shit to be honest in terms of broadband, TV or phone services.

    • @MikeA said:
      That Sky logo is incredibly ugly.

      That shield thing isnt apart of their logo but regardless it is.

    • The UK is terrible for shit getting blocked, noticed that after moving back from Canada.

      The Google cache is currently blocked on BT broadband.

    • Domin43Domin43 Member
      edited August 2016

      I agree the UK is shit for broadband overall, some lucky places have insanely good reliable and fast speeds and unfortunately that isn't me.

    • why would you signup to a isp that blocks websites and or filters them? plenty of other isp's in UK

      I AM BACK :)
      Working Windows Server 2012 R2 on 6GB! Beat that!

    • hostnoobhostnoob Member
      edited August 2016

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @rm_ said:
      Why do you allow your ISP to mess with your traffic? That's like creating a China GFW for yourself voluntarily. Or if you have no option to turn that shit off, change ISPs ASAP.

      Sky is shit. It's known all across the UK, sadly the only main competitor is Virgin Media which is also shit. Then we have the little guys like TalkTalk or BT which are also shit.

      The UK in general is shit to be honest in terms of broadband, TV or phone services.

      Sky is a lot better than Vermin Media

      Current Vermin Media speedtest on their 50 down 3 up plan

      Thanked by 1Maounique

      Favourite host in general: Ramnode (affiliate link)
      Favourite host for hourly billing/custom ISOs: Vultr ($50 free credit for new accounts, affiliate link)

    • @hostnoob said:

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @rm_ said:
      Why do you allow your ISP to mess with your traffic? That's like creating a China GFW for yourself voluntarily. Or if you have no option to turn that shit off, change ISPs ASAP.

      Sky is shit. It's known all across the UK, sadly the only main competitor is Virgin Media which is also shit. Then we have the little guys like TalkTalk or BT which are also shit.

      The UK in general is shit to be honest in terms of broadband, TV or phone services.

      Sky is a lot better than Vermin Media

      Current Vermin Media speedtest on their 50 down 3 up plan

      My area fiber is here but shit. So we stick on old ADSL.

      I've been a customer of NTL through the transition to VM. Soon left VM due to the huge decline in service. Then to Sky and quickly away due to their crap support, (TV remained with sky), through with talktalk and suddenly away where I sit with EE today.

      I can play in my xbox easily, 24/7 as tested recently and no issues, however my mates with VM can they f*ck. Either an incompatibility issue with the superhub or shit connection means I can only play GTA with them before 5:30PM.

    • @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @hostnoob said:

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @rm_ said:
      Why do you allow your ISP to mess with your traffic? That's like creating a China GFW for yourself voluntarily. Or if you have no option to turn that shit off, change ISPs ASAP.

      Sky is shit. It's known all across the UK, sadly the only main competitor is Virgin Media which is also shit. Then we have the little guys like TalkTalk or BT which are also shit.

      The UK in general is shit to be honest in terms of broadband, TV or phone services.

      Sky is a lot better than Vermin Media

      Current Vermin Media speedtest on their 50 down 3 up plan

      My area fiber is here but shit. So we stick on old ADSL.

      I've been a customer of NTL through the transition to VM. Soon left VM due to the huge decline in service. Then to Sky and quickly away due to their crap support, (TV remained with sky), through with talktalk and suddenly away where I sit with EE today.

      I can play in my xbox easily, 24/7 as tested recently and no issues, however my mates with VM can they f*ck. Either an incompatibility issue with the superhub or shit connection means I can only play GTA with them before 5:30PM.

      It's oversubscription. Their network can't handle the amount of people using it, so the service is absolute garbage from 5pm onwards until about midnight, yet they keep selling to more customers.

      I've complained so many times. They said it will be fixed tomorrow as they're upgrading the network.

      I will believe it when I see it. We even got these meme response from their complaints department.

      Favourite host in general: Ramnode (affiliate link)
      Favourite host for hourly billing/custom ISOs: Vultr ($50 free credit for new accounts, affiliate link)

    • @hostnoob yeah that's all BS. Oversold purely.

    • I believe the technical term is 'contention ratio' but it'd equate to LET terms as 'oversold'

    • Thank goodness the UK government is protecting our precious children from these unbeatable European deals.

      Thanked by 2netomx tszilassi
    • NekkiNekki Moderator

      @TarZZ92 said:
      why would you signup to a isp that blocks websites and or filters them? plenty of other isp's in UK

      Who doesn't block or filter?

    • TarZZ92TarZZ92 Member
      edited August 2016

      Nekki said: Who doesn't block or filter?

      Loads. my main isp for example does not (SSE)

      AAISP
      and many others

      I AM BACK :)
      Working Windows Server 2012 R2 on 6GB! Beat that!

    • SpartanHostSpartanHost Member, Provider

      I'm surprised Sky have their filter enabled by default as most other ISPs seem to have their filters disabled by default for everything except of course the sites blocked through court orders, that's all Virgin has ever blocked for me, luckily I'm in an area that isn't oversubscribed and never has been since I joined quite a few years ago.

    • @SpartanHost said:
      I'm surprised Sky have their filter enabled by default as most other ISPs seem to have their filters disabled by default for everything except of course the sites blocked through court orders, that's all Virgin has ever blocked for me, luckily I'm in an area that isn't oversubscribed and never has been since I joined quite a few years ago.

      You live in a rare place my friend.

    • SpartanHostSpartanHost Member, Provider

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @SpartanHost said:
      I'm surprised Sky have their filter enabled by default as most other ISPs seem to have their filters disabled by default for everything except of course the sites blocked through court orders, that's all Virgin has ever blocked for me, luckily I'm in an area that isn't oversubscribed and never has been since I joined quite a few years ago.

      You live in a rare place my friend.

      I've become aware of that since looking at the 'Speed' section of the virgin forum, it looks like they always promise fix dates and then always move the date forward when the time comes. I don't have any alternatives except all the providers that use BT if Virgin becomes useless sadly meaning max speed of 76Mb/s compared to the 210Mb/s I get at the moment.

    • @SpartanHost said:

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @SpartanHost said:
      I'm surprised Sky have their filter enabled by default as most other ISPs seem to have their filters disabled by default for everything except of course the sites blocked through court orders, that's all Virgin has ever blocked for me, luckily I'm in an area that isn't oversubscribed and never has been since I joined quite a few years ago.

      You live in a rare place my friend.

      I've become aware of that since looking at the 'Speed' section of the virgin forum, it looks like they always promise fix dates and then always move the date forward when the time comes. I don't have any alternatives except all the providers that use BT if Virgin becomes useless sadly meaning max speed of 76Mb/s compared to the 210Mb/s I get at the moment.

      Many of my friends use the 200mbit option and struggle to push 10mbit after 6PM. Even to another VM household just 2 mile away

    • SpartanHostSpartanHost Member, Provider

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @SpartanHost said:

      @OpticalSwoosh said:

      @SpartanHost said:
      I'm surprised Sky have their filter enabled by default as most other ISPs seem to have their filters disabled by default for everything except of course the sites blocked through court orders, that's all Virgin has ever blocked for me, luckily I'm in an area that isn't oversubscribed and never has been since I joined quite a few years ago.

      You live in a rare place my friend.

      I've become aware of that since looking at the 'Speed' section of the virgin forum, it looks like they always promise fix dates and then always move the date forward when the time comes. I don't have any alternatives except all the providers that use BT if Virgin becomes useless sadly meaning max speed of 76Mb/s compared to the 210Mb/s I get at the moment.

      Many of my friends use the 200mbit option and struggle to push 10mbit after 6PM. Even to another VM household just 2 mile away

      Ah :( I can push 210Mb/s all day everyday, never seems to change at all. Most people in my area seem to be older/elderly so I suspect that contributes a lot as well as just having quite a lot of free capacity. They are cabling more streets in the area so hopefully those houses are all on a different node than me so when Virgin introduces the speed upgrades again to e.g. 300Mb/s, that everything doesn't go downhill.

    • hawchawc Member, Moderator, LIR

      Is it still being blocked?

    • WebProjectWebProject Member, Provider
      edited August 2016

      @MikeA said:
      That Sky logo is incredibly ugly.

      agree, as the logo should be sky blue colour not red!

      My home BT fibre optic is exactly as it state on website 76Mb/s, I used to have Virgin Media, but after 3GB of data traffic management reducing speed to unusable.

      VPS Price Match Guarantee on: All our range of DDOS protected XEN-HVM VPS Plans
      Are you looking for best price for self-managed VPS? See WebProVPS website for more details.
    • VM only offer 3-12mb upload on their plans, and if you use more than a few GB in an hour or two they reduce it by 60%

      It's ridiculous.

      Favourite host in general: Ramnode (affiliate link)
      Favourite host for hourly billing/custom ISOs: Vultr ($50 free credit for new accounts, affiliate link)

    • SpartanHostSpartanHost Member, Provider

      @hostnoob said:
      VM only offer 3-12mb upload on their plans, and if you use more than a few GB in an hour or two they reduce it by 60%

      It's ridiculous.

      Yeah, that's the only thing that makes me unhappy :( I don't use upload a lot so it's not a big problem but if I did then I would probably be forced to move to one of the providers using BT.

    • SpartanHost said: Ah :( I can push 210Mb/s all day everyday, never seems to change at all. Most people in my area seem to be older/elderly so I suspect that contributes a lot as well as just having quite a lot of free capacity. They are cabling more streets in the area so hopefully those houses are all on a different node than me so when Virgin introduces the speed upgrades again to e.g. 300Mb/s, that everything doesn't go downhill.

      Yup, totally depends on where you're living. At my parents house I can get full advertised speeds 24/7/365. Now I'm living in a student area, I'm worried for October when I'll probably struggle to get 2mbps :(

      @Domin43, it's probably a few dodgy websites being used on a kimsufi.com subdomain that contributed to it, report the issue to them and perhaps forward the screenshot to OVH UK. Also, disable Sky's filter? :)

      Need to reach me quickly? Ping me on Discord

    • DrFallenDrFallen Member, Provider

      Erm Sky doesn't block access to kimsufi broadband shield differs from their actual blocking system. Someone in your household has enabled sites that meet a criteria to be blocked. I have Sky Fibre and below is Kimsufi accessed just now.

    • DrFallenDrFallen Member, Provider

      The only sites that are blocked by all ISPs in the UK are access to torrent sites that they either get complaints about or scan. That was however enforced by the government.

    • Looks like someone in your house does not want you to buy anymore $7 Servers.

    • Well, KS does host a lot of seedboxes, so, double whammy, "save" bandwidth and dont get in trouble with GCHQ

      Extremist conservative user, I wish to preserve human and civil rights, free speech, freedom of the press and worship, rule of law, democracy, peace and prosperity, social mobility, etc. Now you can draw your guns.

    • ClouviderClouvider Member, Provider

      On Sky's plus side - thy are mainstream and have native IPv6 - nice :-).

      Clouvider Leading UK Cloud Hosting solution provider || UK Dedicated Servers Sale || Tasty KVM Slices || Latest LET Offer

      Web hosting in Cloud | SSD & SAS True Cloud VPS on OnApp | Private Cloud | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Managed Services

    • rskrsk Member, Provider

      Domin43 said: Why on earth would Sky Broadband block access to kimsufi. Can anyone else confirm.. here's a pic:

      I've seen things like this before. Usually an ISP will block a range of IPs, if some of the IPs within that range are known to be malicious, etc, etc....

    • I switched my home connection to a business contract (with a smallish regional provider) because I got sick of the slowdown after 5pm and the obvious ever increasing traffic shaping. The monthly bill is more than twice as before but the connection is perfect all the time now, and the customer service is for real. A cable cut was fixed next day; the neighboring apartment (still with the consumer contract) remained offline for almost a week.
      Money well spent.

      Thanked by 1netomx
    • pcan said: A cable cut was fixed next day

      Wow, and that is considered good service? Unless it happens shortly before midnight, I expect it to be sorted out within hours even if I am the only one affected and I am not on a business contract.

      Extremist conservative user, I wish to preserve human and civil rights, free speech, freedom of the press and worship, rule of law, democracy, peace and prosperity, social mobility, etc. Now you can draw your guns.

    • So, SKY is the limit right ;)

      Thanked by 2Maounique netomx

      time wasters please dont comment as we are a serious buyer
      Programmer trying to do Logo Designs

    • @Maounique said:

      pcan said: A cable cut was fixed next day

      Wow, and that is considered good service?

      Next business day is the best available option here for a FTTC or ADSL line. It is just not possible to have a better contract. To get a guaranteed 4h response (and optional non-business-hour extension) a upgrade to other technologies is required. Copper-based residential lines are served best effort, there is no contractually guaranteed resolution time anymore, only a target resolution time. This is a hopefully temporary recent issue; the copper infrastructure is left to decay because it will be replaced by fiber sooner or later and no one want to spend good money to repair and mantain it, they just do the bare minimum.

    • @Maounique said:

      pcan said: A cable cut was fixed next day

      Wow, and that is considered good service? Unless it happens shortly before midnight, I expect it to be sorted out within hours even if I am the only one affected and I am not on a business contract.

      Yes it is, most residential packages have absolutely 0 SLA, and the only thing potentially you can claim is the cost of the service back. Now some of the ISP's will give you extra credit or something on top if they do have a major outage but contractually they don't have to give you anything.

    • @pcan said:

      @Maounique said:

      pcan said: A cable cut was fixed next day

      Wow, and that is considered good service?

      Next business day is the best available option here for a FTTC or ADSL line. It is just not possible to have a better contract. To get a guaranteed 4h response (and optional non-business-hour extension) a upgrade to other technologies is required. Copper-based residential lines are served best effort, there is no contractually guaranteed resolution time anymore, only a target resolution time. This is a hopefully temporary recent issue; the copper infrastructure is left to decay because it will be replaced by fiber sooner or later and no one want to spend good money to repair and mantain it, they just do the bare minimum.

      Not sure that's completely true as you can get some of the Ethernet type service delivered over an FTTC tail and that's considered to be a leased line so has tighter SLA's You also pay a lot for for often a 20 or 40Mbit/s downstream.

    • k0nslk0nsl Member, Member without signature

      I agree. I managed to get some of CloudFlare's IP addresses blocked by SkyB in 2014:

      @OpticalSwoosh said:
      Sky is shit. It's known all across the UK, sadly the only main competitor is Virgin Media which is also shit. Then we have the little guys like TalkTalk or BT which are also shit.

    • Just to keep this more factual than surreal, BT are the market leaders for UK broadband.

      http://media.ofcom.org.uk/facts/

    • hawchawc Member, Moderator, LIR

      Anyone with HSBC in the UK getting their OVH payments declined now?

    • @hawc said:
      Anyone with HSBC in the UK getting their OVH payments declined now?

      Black Horsey is fine

      Thanked by 1HyperSpeed
    • Sky Fibre Pro here, and no issue...

      why are you even using sky shield are you 10? Just turn it off..

      or add it to your safe list.

      Smir

    • @dragon2611 said:

      @Maounique said:

      pcan said: A cable cut was fixed next day

      Wow, and that is considered good service? Unless it happens shortly before midnight, I expect it to be sorted out within hours even if I am the only one affected and I am not on a business contract.

      Yes it is, most residential packages have absolutely 0 SLA, and the only thing potentially you can claim is the cost of the service back. Now some of the ISP's will give you extra credit or something on top if they do have a major outage but contractually they don't have to give you anything.

      Of course there is no SLA and if shit hits the fan you can at most cancel early, but they dont like this as it comes with a lot of loss, at times even phones, tablets or big screen TVs which were subsidized. They absolutely dont want you to log 48 hours of downtime for this reason, so, to make sure, come as soon as they notice it.

      Extremist conservative user, I wish to preserve human and civil rights, free speech, freedom of the press and worship, rule of law, democracy, peace and prosperity, social mobility, etc. Now you can draw your guns.

    • @Maounique See you say that but I've got an ongoing fault on my Sky line (got them as a backup as it's cheap due to an offer) that's had something ridiculous like 6 engineers out on it so far and they've still not tracked it down.

      BT-Openreach will be charging them to the tune of around £125 (I'd have to check the latest docs to be sure what it exactly is) for every SFI they order, so depending on if they've managed to claim that back or not I will have cost them WAY more than I've ever paid them over the 1yr term.

      It would have actually been cheaper for them to cease the line and order a new one.

    Sign In or Register to comment.