Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
Netcup.eu Root Server (SSD) Reviews? - Monster Deal
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

Netcup.eu Root Server (SSD) Reviews? - Monster Deal

ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider
edited January 2016 in Help

Hey,

Who got any review about this company? I checked this in Germany and seems they are the number one provider in Vservers. I mean they got 5 star and many many good reviews.

https://www.netcup.eu/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=1208

Thats what i need for now hm.

Thanked by 1Geekoine
«1

Comments

  • They are solid. Don't even know why they only guarantee 99,6% uptime, I have one of their netcup-labs test servers which are free and I can't remember any downtime in over a year.

    What they advertise as DDoS-protection is more like auto-nullroute though.

    Thanked by 1Geekoine

    tsdns.io - free, redundant, DDoS-protected TSDNS

  • is it kvm?

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @tr1cky said:
    They are solid. Don't even know why they only guarantee 99,6% uptime, I have one of their netcup-labs test servers which are free and I can't remember any downtime in over a year.

    What they advertise as DDoS-protection is more like auto-nullroute though.

    So they are ready for production?

    DDOS protection is 5gbps as i see. Check it:
    https://www.netcup.eu/ueber-netcup/ddos-schutz-filter.php

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @Geekoine said:
    is it kvm?

    Yes. And dedicated cores. They got a monster CPU

    Thanked by 1Geekoine
  • @ZweiTiger said:
    Yes. And dedicated cores. They got a monster CPU

    I saw the CPU, so I asked:-) Amazing

  • draziloxdrazilox Member
    edited January 2016

    I was a customer a few years ago and they were alright. One downside definitely is that when I wanted to cancel the service, I had to fax them a signed letter requesting it, and still had to pay a extra month.

  • NeoonNeoon Member
    edited January 2016

    Eh, that Xeon® E5-2660V3 has 10 Cores, and 20 with HT, i am sure they dont gonna put only 2 VPS's on one box.

    Which brings it down to 0.8k bench for a single core = shitty atom.

  • AmitzAmitz Member
    edited January 2016

    Well, they say "2 dedicated cores" when following the link, but "2 virtual cores" on the corresponding overview page...

    For those who care:
    You can now find me at https://talk.lowendspirit.com or https://www.hostballs.com

  • all prices include german VAT, and you can get the small one even cheaper on a one year contract term: https://www.netcup.de/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=1285

    be sure to read and understand what you sign up to, when choosing a longer contract term. and how to cancel them properly and in a timely manner - as drazilox said that may become tr1cky with german providers, if you are not used to ;-)

    can't say much about their quality of service though, haven't used them by now.

    Thanked by 1Geekoine

    most recommended Provider: First-Root KVM Power-Edition /w SSD
    UltraVPS.eu KVM in US/UK/NL/DE: 15% off first 6 month | Netcup VPS/rootDS - 5€ off: 36nc15279180197 (ref)

  • drazilox said: I had to fax them a signed letter requesting it, and still had to pay a extra month.

    Yep that is pretty common in germany unfortunately. You have to really watch out for the contract/billing period and cancel it in time.

    Apart from that I had several boxes with them and there is not much to say, they were pretty solid. By the way how much traffic do those boxes have? Back then when I was a customer of them it was "fair use" and they can put you on a slower "high traffic" node whenever they want. That's what I worried a bit, because I didn't know if they would do that at 1TB or 10..

  • drazilox said: I had to fax them a signed letter requesting it, and still had to pay a extra month

    This is like server4you.com does. They ask you to "cancel" contract by fax or letter. Nasty deal.

    hostWP.net - Wordpress Hosting Platform.

  • When I signed up in ~2014, I got a mail saying something like I have to validate myself if they can't find me in a public phone book, never heard from them again... Maybe because I wrote them to fuck off couple minutes later, as I smelled the need to submit my id.

    Software is like sex, it's better when it's free!

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider
    edited January 2016

    @LTniger said:

    I just ignored their emails. What they could from Germany... nothing haha. (they got an online form about the cancellation , not need letter anymore)

  • AmitzAmitz Member
    edited January 2016

    @ZweiTiger said:

    I just ignored their emails. What they could from Germany... nothing haha.

    As being from Germany myself, you really encourage me to become your customer one day...
    Some of you 'providers' here should take a lesson in "how not to ruin my public image by thinking before posting".

    For those who care:
    You can now find me at https://talk.lowendspirit.com or https://www.hostballs.com

  • cassacassa Member, Provider
    Your details will now be checked by one of our members of staff. If your details are not listed in a telephone directory or if there are other irregularities, we will need to validate your address by phoning you or writing to you.
    

    ik moet poepen

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider
    edited January 2016

    @Amitz said:
    Some of you 'providers' here should take a lesson in "how not to ruin my public image by thinking before posting".

    Actually the cancel done via an online page. They not need anymore letter.

    Well after that they sent me many emails about why i leave. Because their uptime is well.. very bad.

    So thats the true story sorry. I am not so evil like that :P

    @cassa said:

    > Your details will now be checked by one of our members of staff. If your details are not listed in a telephone directory or if there are other irregularities, we will need to validate your address by phoning you or writing to you.
    > 

    And they need a bank transfer first. Pleae note.

    Thanked by 1Amitz
  • AmitzAmitz Member
    edited January 2016

    So you have been with them, but ask us for reviews? Sorry, but I don't get it...

    @ZweiTiger said:
    Hey,

    Who got any review about this company? I checked this in Germany and seems they are the number one provider in Vservers. I mean they got 5 star and many many good reviews.

    https://www.netcup.eu/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=1208

    Thats what i need for now hm.

    For those who care:
    You can now find me at https://talk.lowendspirit.com or https://www.hostballs.com

  • are there any benchmark from them or serverbear results? Looks very interesting.

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @Amitz said:
    So you have been with them, but ask us for reviews? Sorry, but I don't get it...

    The last commant was with server4you.com. I never tried netcup because they need bank transfer first.

    Thats why i ask :)

    Thanked by 1Amitz
  • Now I get it! ;-)

    For those who care:
    You can now find me at https://talk.lowendspirit.com or https://www.hostballs.com

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @desperand said:
    are there any benchmark from them or serverbear results? Looks very interesting.

    here:
    https://rcvd.io/2015/06/13/aktuelle-vserver-im-vergleich/

    they got 1600 score / core at unixbench

  • They are quite okay.
    All but the smallest plan offer dedicated cores and from what I heared you can pretty much utilize it for 100%. Also SSD storage and stuff...

    I once had an issue with them couple years ago (2010) when it was my 2nd or 3rd vps. The box suffered from slow I/O and crappy CPU performance. When I tried to find the reasons they told me to check my processes but even with a fresh clean install, it felt slow. I asked to check it once more and they were like: 'If you dont like it, cancel it. If you dont know how to check your processes, then dont blame us, as this is unmanaged.'. Which I did and honestly... never regret it. Since then I stood away from them.

    Beside that theyr reviews are pretty good.

  • Infinity580 said: Eh, that Xeon® E5-2660V3 has 10 Cores, and 20 with HT, i am sure they dont gonna put only 2 VPS's on one box.

    ow for christ sake. it has 10 cores and that's it, hyperthreading does not add cores it merely processes 2 threads

    I AM BACK :)
    Working Windows Server 2012 R2 on 6GB! Beat that!

  • @TarZZ92 said:

    Wat? Thats what I said, HT divides the performance by 50% cuz 2 Threads to one Physical Corez. Which means Shitty Benchmarks if that thing is under load.

    Actually i tried to explain that they give you 4 Threads, not 4 Cores.

  • Infinity580 said: Wat? Thats what I said, HT divides the performance by 50% cuz 2 Threads to one Physical Corez. Which means Shitty Benchmarks if that thing is under load.

    then why did you say 20 with HT

    knowing well it gives no extra cores it's still 10 cores no matter what. software will not give you extra cores.

    I AM BACK :)
    Working Windows Server 2012 R2 on 6GB! Beat that!

  • AlexanderMAlexanderM Top Provider
    edited January 2016

    @Infinity580 said:
    Eh, that Xeon® E5-2660V3 has 10 Cores, and 20 with HT, i am sure they dont gonna put only 2 VPS's on one box.

    Which brings it down to 0.8k bench for a single core = shitty atom.

    We use this CPU and it easily scores 1k+ on single core (HT core) UnixBench tests.

    HostUS | OpenVZ & KVM VPS in 10 worldwide locations with our own Breeze Panel!
    AS7489 | View our network | LIR Services - IPv4, IPv6, ASN | Latest Special Offers!

  • @AlexanderM said:
    We use this CPU and it easily scores 1k+ on single core (HT core) UnixBench tests.

    Actually you could get from 0.8k to 1.6k Bench, which depends on the Node usage - overhead loss.

  • I'm a customer with netcup since 2010 and can really recommend them. They become very attractive at the higher range starting above 12 EUR a month and also their deals, especially at Xmas or summer-specials are really good.

    As mentioned before a written notice of cancellation is not needed anymore.

    Personally I've got this machine at a yearly contract for 14.49 EUR (vat included) https://www.netcup.eu/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=1208

    A Root-Server Xmas 2015 special for 2.99 with two CPU Cores| 4GB RAM | 40GB HDD which is the best product they have for this pricing and also a labs-server (beta test environment)

    If some of you guys want, I've got some onetime discount codes about 5 EUR: http://pastebin.com/zu4bkNRD

  • I wantz to know about banwitz

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @twiigl said:
    I'm a customer with netcup since 2010 and can really recommend them. They become very attractive at the higher range starting above 12 EUR a month and also their deals, especially at Xmas or summer-specials are really good.

    As mentioned before a written notice of cancellation is not needed anymore.

    Personally I've got this machine at a yearly contract for 14.49 EUR (vat included) https://www.netcup.eu/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=1208

    A Root-Server Xmas 2015 special for 2.99 with two CPU Cores| 4GB RAM | 40GB HDD which is the best product they have for this pricing and also a labs-server (beta test environment)

    If some of you guys want, I've got some onetime discount codes about 5 EUR: http://pastebin.com/zu4bkNRD

    Could be so helpful and run this script? Only a benchmark so nothing special.

    Thank you!

    https://freevps.us/downloads/bench.sh

  • need to derail a bit as we are speaking about german VPS providers...

    @ZweiTiger haven't you been with contabo lately? are you planning to leave or did leave them already? if so, care to explain why or do a short sum up on their services at all? thanks!

    most recommended Provider: First-Root KVM Power-Edition /w SSD
    UltraVPS.eu KVM in US/UK/NL/DE: 15% off first 6 month | Netcup VPS/rootDS - 5€ off: 36nc15279180197 (ref)

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @Falzo said:
    need to derail a bit as we are speaking about german VPS providers...

    ZweiTiger haven't you been with contabo lately? are you planning to leave or did leave them already? if so, care to explain why or do a short sum up on their services at all? thanks!

    Hey i been with colorhost.de for years. My friend used contabo. He was very happy with it. Just we changed to an online.net dedicated server.

    So i could recommend them very well. They use old hardware and etc but the uptime was great.

    I already tried serverloft.de =shit , server4you = shit. Next is netcup.. we shall see. Seems they are very good. I wait for the benchmark from @twiigl

  • @ZweiTiger In a private message two days ago you told me Contabo was useless "shit" and I should avoid them at all cost.

    So, what's the case now?

  • FalzoFalzo Member
    edited January 2016

    @ZweiTiger said:

    thanks for clarification... need to add that serverloft and server4you are the same company at all (BSB Services GmbH located in Huerth).

    PS: if you're circeling through the german businesses, then maybe have a look at keyweb too https://www.keyweb.de/en/products/server/root-virtual-server
    (used them some years ago, pretty decent and reliable but can't say much about their actual situation)

    most recommended Provider: First-Root KVM Power-Edition /w SSD
    UltraVPS.eu KVM in US/UK/NL/DE: 15% off first 6 month | Netcup VPS/rootDS - 5€ off: 36nc15279180197 (ref)

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider

    @Shigawire said:
    ZweiTiger In a private message two days ago you told me Contabo was useless "shit" and I should avoid them at all cost.

    So, what's the case now?

    Well. The performance is very bad. Network sometimes slow. Not ready for production only for personal usage.

    Uptime was good.

    So.. try colorhost.de is ready for production

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider
    edited January 2016

    @Falzo said:
    thanks for clarification... need to add that serverloft and server4you are the same company at all (BSB Services GmbH located in Huerth).

    I tried serverloft.de root server for production. Every 2 week 8 hour downtime. server4you not guarantee any memory for you. so if they say 2gb guarantee then you could use 500mb. Or your server crash :D. What a funny thing.. avoid..

  • looks like a provider comparable to Contabo

  • twiigltwiigl Member
    edited January 2016

    ZweiTiger said: Could be so helpful and run this script? Only a benchmark so nothing special.

    Sure

    Root-Server L SSD v6 (boostraped preboot encrypted): http://pastebin.com/ySqv5ZUq

    Root-Server Xmas 2015 (boostraped preboot encrypted): http://pastebin.com/P1kQ0fBp

    Root-Server nc-labs (bootstraped preboot encrypted): http://pastebin.com/7tGUp2PZ

  • ZweiTigerZweiTiger Member, Provider
    edited January 2016

    @twiigl said:

    Root Server L

    Is this the SSD type? IO a bit low :)

    Thank you very much!

  • ZweiTiger said: Root Server L

    Is this the SSD type? IO a bit low :)

    Yup that is the SSD one, it could be low, since my servers are preboot encrypted with dm-crypt

  • what does it mean that "dvd drive"?

  • time4vpstime4vps Member, Provider

    Geekoine said: what does it mean that "dvd drive"?

    Ability to mount custom ISO's?

    Time4VPS - time for your personal server

  • GeekoineGeekoine Member
    edited January 2016

    @time4vps said

    Should I burn and send my own iso?

  • @Geekoine said:
    time4vps said

    Should I burn and send my own iso?

    Stop playing dumb please.

    It most likely has a system to mount ISOs from local storage or even allows to mount ISOs over the Internet like you can do on Vultr. Like with KVM...

    Thanked by 1Geekoine

    I'm on vacation in Belize.

  • How about to use the compare feature ;) You can upload your own iso and use them if you want, based on the model

    Thanked by 1Geekoine
  • @tr1cky said:
    They are solid. Don't even know why they only guarantee 99,6% uptime, I have one of their netcup-labs test servers which are free and I can't remember any downtime in over a year.

    What they advertise as DDoS-protection is more like auto-nullroute though.

    Because 99,9 % uptime costs 1,99 € per month (https://www.netcup.de/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=1252).

  • VPS_UnlimitedVPS_Unlimited Member
    edited February 2016

    I have multiple Roots there and everything great so far :) If you need some bench let me know^^

    Only downside: additional ipv4 adresses only rentable if you pay 12 months in advance. That makes it 12€+5€setup per year per ipv4.

  • @VPS_Unlimited said:
    I have multiple Roots there and everything great so far :) If you need some bench let me know^^

    Only downside: additional ipv4 adresses only rentable if you pay 12 months in advance. That makes it 12€+5€setup per year per ipv4.

    @jarland can you hold or deny provider tag for him?

  • @robohost said:
    jarland can you hold or deny provider tag for him?

    How did you come up with that idea?

Sign In or Register to comment.