Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Easiest Mail Cluster?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Easiest Mail Cluster?

gibstergibster Member

Hi all,
I'm pretty new to this, however I think that it'll be good to learn. I have quite a few spare domain names that I don't use for anything and quite a few spare VPS', on which I would like to set up some sort of mail server cluster. I can't find any good tutorials, but form what I gathered is that the best way to go about doing this would be using a HA cluster? Many thanks in advance,
Ben

Comments

• tommytommy Member

why do you need mail server cluster in first place?

• Need more information here... what is your goal?

If its reliability, you could setup a second server, then give it a higher MX value than your primary one for failover.. then in postfix add it to relay_domains

• jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran
    edited June 2015

For low volume e-mail something like GlusterFS for storage with webmail/IMAP/SMTP redundancy by failover at the DNS level. The key is that you HAVE to keep mail storage in perfect sync. You can't just rsync this, at least not without a complex script that treats rsync differently based on time stamps.

To put it simply, there is no easy way to have high availability e-mail unless cost isn't a factor. There are surely licensed mail server appliances out there that can handle this. This is why I'm still confused by VestaCP's "mail cluster" feature they claim is in development.

What you can absolutely have, very easily, is a mail server and a backup relay to hold incoming e-mail.