Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
Can you review my Wordpress nginx conf? Appreciate a little optimization.
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

Can you review my Wordpress nginx conf? Appreciate a little optimization.

The following conf is working perfectly fine. I'm currently using Let's Encrypt and forwards all traffics from

1) www http (http://www.lowendnigh.com)
2) www https (https://www.lowendisnigh.com)

to

3) non-www https (https://lowendisnigh.com)
4) Wordpress pretty URL enabled

However, since coming from Apache to Nginx I'm rather noob. I need to know if I miss something or added too much unnecessary stuff...

$ nginx -v
nginx version: nginx/1.14.0 (Ubuntu)

/etc/nginx/nginx.conf

include /etc/nginx/modules-enabled/*.conf;

events {

worker_connections 1024;

}

http {

include /etc/nginx/lowendisnigh.com.conf;

include /etc/nginx/mime.types;

}

pid /run/nginx.pid;

user www-data;

worker_processes auto;

/etc/nginx/lowendisnigh.com.conf

server {

listen                  80;
listen                  [::]:80;

return                  301 https://lowendisnigh.com$request_uri;

}

server {

listen                  443 default_server http2 ssl;
listen                  [::]:443 default_server http2 ssl;

access_log              /var/log/nginx/lowendisnigh.com.access.log;
error_log               /var/log/nginx/lowendisnigh.com.error.log;
index                   index.html index.php;
root                    /home/sudoranger/lowendisnigh.com;
server_name             lowendisnigh.com www.lowendisnigh.com;

client_max_body_size    128M;
default_type            application/octet-stream;
fastcgi_read_timeout    600;
gzip                    on;
keepalive_timeout       60;
sendfile                on;
send_timeout            600;
tcp_nodelay             on;
tcp_nopush              on;
types_hash_max_size     2048;

include                 /etc/letsencrypt/options-ssl-nginx.conf;
ssl_certificate         /etc/letsencrypt/live/lowendisnigh.com/fullchain.pem;
ssl_certificate_key     /etc/letsencrypt/live/lowendisnigh.com/privkey.pem;
ssl_dhparam             /etc/letsencrypt/ssl-dhparams.pem;

location / {
    try_files $uri $uri/ /index.php?$args;
}
location ~ \.php$ {
    fastcgi_pass unix:/var/run/php/php7.2-fpm.sock;
    include snippets/fastcgi-php.conf;
}
location ~ /\.ht {
    deny all;
}

}

Disclaimer: Domain name isn't real, it's for the sake of this discussion only.

Thanked by 1gol3m

Comments

  • armandorgarmandorg Member
    edited January 2019

    @sudoranger said:
    Disclaimer: Domain name isn't real, it's for the sake of this discussion only.

    *Silently gets in the corner of the office, ducks and cries

    Web Design Agency - Custom Web Designs
    Blog - about Web Design, UX, UI and Front End Development.

  • eoleol Member

    @armandorg said:

    @sudoranger said:
    Disclaimer: Domain name isn't real, it's for the sake of this discussion only.


    *Silently gets in the corner of the office, ducks and cries

    Joins.

    Thanked by 2armandorg Janevski

    ˙ɹǝuzʇǝɥ

  • mfsmfs Banned, Member
    edited January 2019

    I'd recommend to give a peep at what our @eva2000 does with centminmod
    Actually, try to deploy it and give a good look at it; even if you're not a CentOS person (I'm not) you can get some inspirations for your Debian deployment

    Also:
    https://nginxconfig.io/?wordpress

    I've left LET since February 2019, account made inactive on request.

  • ^> @mfs said:

    I'd recommend to give a peep at what our @eva2000 does with centminmod
    Actually, try to deploy it and give a good look at it; even if you're not a CentOS person (I'm not) you can get some inspirations for your Debian deployment

    this. Centminnod is all you need for optimal WordPress. I use it on all my sites... Wp-cli support, easy to navigate.

    Thanked by 1eva2000
  • this apaache and nginx is kinda screwed up for me so I use openlitespeed + openlitespeed web admin + name based virtual hosting + mariadb for all of my sitez

    pɹɐɔ ʇıpǝɹɔ ʎuɐ ʇnoɥʇıʍ sɹǝʌɹǝs pǝʇɐɔıpǝp ǝǝɹɟ ʇǝƃ : uɔɔʍ/ǝǝɹɟxʇǝƃ/ɯoɔ˙ıpǝpǝǝɹɟ//:sdʇʇɥ

  • @mfs said:
    I'd recommend to give a peep at what our @eva2000 does with centminmod
    Actually, try to deploy it and give a good look at it; even if you're not a CentOS person (I'm not) you can get some inspirations for your Debian deployment

    Also:
    https://nginxconfig.io/?wordpress

    have you even seen centminmod minimum recommended requirements? don't just casually recommend something

  • mfsmfs Banned, Member
    edited January 2019

    smile said: have you even seen centminmod minimum recommended requirements? don't just casually recommend something

    I'd humbly suggest you to take a deep breath and re-read the comment you're quoting. Besides, I miss entirely your (attempted) argument about the minimum requirements that project suggests, and their relevance with the topic.

    iHavenoName said: Centminnod is all you need for optimal WordPress

    It's an interesting project to look at regardless of the fact you're going to use CentOS or Wordpress at all; there are quite a few hints you could research for your own stack.

    I've left LET since February 2019, account made inactive on request.

  • CreativityCreativity Member
    edited January 2019

    Access logging can use a decent amount of CPU and disk IO for high traffic on spinning disks, you could try disabling it if it's a bottleneck. For a mostly static page, you could give nginx caching a try to reduce the load on fastcgi?

  • @mfs said:

    smile said: have you even seen centminmod minimum recommended requirements? don't just casually recommend something

    I'd humbly suggest you to take a deep breath and re-read the comment you're quoting. Besides, I miss entirely your (attempted) argument about the minimum requirements that project suggests, and their relevance with the topic.

    your ideal of "relevance" is entirely your creation. He literally ask for nginx conf review without providing any server configuration. At least I do not pretend to give answers to questions never asked.

  • @smile said:
    have you even seen centminmod minimum recommended requirements? don't just casually recommend something

    It's no more than what WordPress actually uses when you run it. You should allocate 1gb RAM and 15gb HDD/SSD for an average WP install and Centmin only states that as a minimum for CentOS7. Based on my experience, the disk usage is LESS than the reqs they post and the RAM/CPU usage is minimal than if I were to install LAMP/WP manually.

  • mfsmfs Banned, Member

    smile said:

    your ideal of "relevance" is entirely your creation. He literally ask for nginx conf review without providing any server configuration. At least I do not pretend to give answers to questions never asked.

    It seems to me you decided to randomly pick a fight for no reasons at all and without really caring or contributing to the topic. Thank you for the free lesson about which pointers and hints could be relevant for a user saying they're new to nginx, and pretty unaware about what could be tweaked or twisted as well; even if this lesson wasn't asked for.
    Your opinion and superior attitude has been appreciated and noted, have a good day! tips

    Thanked by 1NanoG6

    I've left LET since February 2019, account made inactive on request.

  • @mfs said:

    smile said:

    your ideal of "relevance" is entirely your creation. He literally ask for nginx conf review without providing any server configuration. At least I do not pretend to give answers to questions never asked.

    It seems to me you decided to randomly pick a fight for no reasons at all and without really caring or contributing to the topic. Thank you for the free lesson about which pointers and hints could be relevant for a user saying they're new to nginx, and pretty unaware about what could be tweaked or twisted as well; even if this lesson wasn't asked for.
    Your opinion and superior attitude has been appreciated and noted, have a good day! tips

    if you mean help as in providing nonsense to questions than ok. OP asks for optimizing for a non existent site. WHAT OPTIMIZATION? I am sensible not to respond instead of giving useless info to a pointless question but for the sake of discussion and provide a rational retort to another user who at this point is pretending to a victim of a discussion forum.

  • deankdeank Member, Troll

    Ohhh, a cat fight.

    I have not created a single thread. Verify it if you dare.

  • NanoG6NanoG6 Member
    edited January 2019

    This is cool. Thanks!

    Thanked by 1mfs
  • needs more cowbell

    Thanked by 1eol

    the Amitz.party lives on!

  • eva2000eva2000 Member
    edited January 2019

    FYI, though Centmin Mod min and recommended usage requirements for memory at least is dictated by CentOS's own requirements and recommendations i.e. CentOS 7 is 1GB.

    mfs said: I'd recommend to give a peep at what our @eva2000 does with centminmod

    Yup, try to deploy it and give a good look at it; even if you're not a CentOS person (I'm not) you can get some inspirations for your Debian deployment

    Yeah I know a few folks who just follow/use Centmin Mod just to borrow ideas of more optimal configurations for their Ubuntu/Debian LEMP stack setups. The beauty of Centmin Mod being open source :)

    @sudoranger biggest tip for optimal config, if you want to scale your wordpress install for concurrent user performance switch from unix sockets to TCP for PHP-FPM. You can see from my benchmarks for Centmin Mod vs EasyEngine v3 vs Webinoly vs VestaCP vs OneInStack at https://community.centminmod.com/threads/php-7-x-benchmarks-centmin-mod-vs-easyengine-vs-webinoly-vs-vestacp-vs-oneinstack.14988/ and how different LEMP stacks fair for PHP-FPM scalability performance especially where OneInStack falls behind when using PHP-FPM via unix sockets compared to other LEMP stacks using TCP at high concurrent user loads. You can jump straight to start of the scalability benchmarks here.

    Also more ideas for your own Wordpress install configs seeing = Differences between Wordpress regular install vs centmin.sh menu option 22 install.

    As some folks stated, even if you don't use Centmin Mod, you can borrow or see how stuff is implemented and do it yourself too i.e. https://centminmod.com/perf/. That's the benefits of open source projects.

    Thanked by 2coreflux mfs
    * Centmin Mod Project (HTTP/2 support + ngx_pagespeed + Nginx Lua + Vhost Stats)
    * Centmin Mod LEMP Stack Quick Install Guide
  • sudoranger said: However, since coming from Apache to Nginx I'm rather noob. I need to know if I miss something or added too much unnecessary stuff...

    https://cyberpanel.net/

    it's ideal for WordPress, very easy to use, configure, and it has a plugin for WordPress for blazing fast performance. Tested, really nice thing.

  • Thanks for your suggestion but I'm currently not interested with any control panels (free or freemium or paid) but only looking to optimize and tweak my current nginx conf.

    @eva2000 said:
    You can see from my benchmarks...

    Thanks! I'll certainly going to check that out later tonight. I was a CentOS dude back in the cPanel days but since I got hook with Ubuntu's gnome :blush: lately so 90% of my systems are mostly debian-based (apart from Win10).

    @eva2000 said:
    unix sockets to TCP for PHP-FPM

    I have no idea what you said because my LEMP stack is straight-up sudo apt install php-fpm with no modification so perhaps it's using unix socket?

    @smile said:
    OP asks for optimizing for a non existent site. WHAT OPTIMIZATION? I am sensible not to respond instead of giving useless info to a pointless question.

    The site exists but the domain name isn't! Please read before assuming this as a pointless question.

    @uxtvdl said:
    ...I use openlitespeed + openlitespeed web admin + name based virtual hosting + mariadb for all of my sitez

    How's the performance when it comes to at least 10K concurrent visitors?

    Thanks! This is indeed a useful tip. Anymore (trusted/reliable) generators like this?

  • servertradingservertrading Member, Provider

    You can set the exact number of your cpu or cores here : worker_processes auto; . If you use 2 cores, then set worker_processes 2.

Sign In or Register to comment.