Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

Latest LowEndBox Offers

    Virtono Cloud XL (Miami) Review
    New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

    Virtono Cloud XL (Miami) Review

    edited September 2018 in Reviews

    Virtono Miami KVM Review

    Note: the Cloud XL VPS used for this review was provided for free for benchmark purposes. This did not affect any of my conclusions in the thread. See the LET thread for more details of the giveaway they ran.

    This is an initial review of the Virtono.com KVM cloud servers in Miami, based on under a week of usage.

    Contents:
    1. Pricing and Features
    2. Benchmarks: Performance
    2.a Serverbench.io
    2.b Bench.sh
    2.b Stability over time
    2.c Network
    3. Uptime
    4. Security
    5. Support/Communication
    6. Conclusion

    Pricing and Features

    These are KVM VPS's with SSD storage. The Cloud-XL has, at the time of test, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 4 cores (2.67GHz) and 8TB bandwidth, all for €43.95.

    Virtono have run up to 30% discount recurring offers for quite some time in their recent LET posts.

    Benchmarks: Performance**

    Serverbench.io

    Test results for CLOUD XL - MIAMI at Virtono

    Server specs:

    4 × Westmere E56xx/L56xx/X56xx (Nehalem-C)
    8 GB RAM / 120 GB disk space
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic
    Miami, United States

    Benchmark results summary:

    UnixBench - 2761.3
    Disk Read - 1825 MB/s
    Disk Write - 1555 MB/s
    Bandwidth - 845.88 MB/s

    More: https://serverscope.io/trials/vVNx

    Bench.sh

     CPU model            : Westmere E56xx/L56xx/X56xx (Nehalem-C)
     Number of cores      : 4
     CPU frequency        : 2666.760 MHz
     Total size of Disk   : 115.0 GB (1.9 GB Used)
     Total amount of Mem  : 7976 MB (90 MB Used)
     Total amount of Swap : 4095 MB (0 MB Used)
     System uptime        : 1 days, 19 hour 35 min
     Load average         : 0.02, 2.58, 4.15
     OS                   : Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS
     Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
     Kernel               : 4.15.0-22-generic
    
     I/O speed(1st run)   : 570 MB/s
     I/O speed(2nd run)   : 602 MB/s
     I/O speed(3rd run)   : 447 MB/s
     Average I/O speed    : 539.7 MB/s
    
     Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
     CacheFly                        205.234.175.175         83.6MB/s      
     Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          6.21MB/s      
     Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            4.09MB/s      
     Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           18.3MB/s      
     Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           12.8MB/s      
     Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             20.2MB/s      
     Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           63.4MB/s      
     Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          27.2MB/s      
     Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            11.4MB/s      
     Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           5.58MB/s      
     Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          6.40MB/s      
    
     Node Name                       IPv6 address            Download Speed
     Linode, Atlanta, GA             2600:3c02::4b           80.8MB/s      
     Linode, Dallas, TX              2600:3c00::4b           36.2MB/s      
     Linode, Newark, NJ              2600:3c03::4b           29.0MB/s      
     Linode, Singapore, SG           2400:8901::4b           6.51MB/s      
     Linode, Tokyo, JP               2400:8900::4b           7.64MB/s      
     Softlayer, San Jose, CA         2607:f0d0:2601:2a::4    21.0MB/s      
     Softlayer, Washington, WA       2607:f0d0:3001:78::2    9.90MB/s      
     Softlayer, Paris, FR            2a03:8180:1301:8::4     11.6MB/s      
     Softlayer, Singapore, SG        2401:c900:1101:8::2     4.67MB/s      
     Softlayer, Tokyo, JP            2401:c900:1001:16::4    6.48MB/s      
    

    Benchmarks: Stability

    For the price of this plan, it's possible to get a very budget dedicated server. As a result, I was highly interested in the stability of this plan - or how noisy the node was - to determine whether I'd be better off getting a potentially lower, but more stable, performance elsewhere.

    Over 3 days, from Wednesday to Friday, the following were run every hour:

    • Ping latency tests (IPv4 and v6)

    • 100MB download tests (IPv4 and v6)

    • Sequential write tests (dd)

    • Random IO tests (ioping)

    I've found that these are useful tests to identify whether there is some periodic issue (e.g network congestion during peak hours).

    Results

    The main thing I was looking for was the absence of prolonged periods of abnormally slow speeds, which would indicate node/network congestion.

    The results were fairly stable over time - it seems that any network deviations are fairly minor, and possibly due to external factors (such as a single speedtest server being slower for a short amount of time).

    There were some periods of slow maximum IOPS (tested using ioping), but these did not last long. The sequential write speed was not affected during these times, so I'm not too concerned.

    In total there are 72 readings, once each hour for 3 days.

    Ping Latency (IPv4)

    Ping Latency (IPv6)

    Download Speed (IPv4)

    Download Speed IPv6)

    Disk Sequential Write Speed

    Disk ioping results

    Network

    My IP was in a /24 announced by m247.com (as9009.net). M247 seem to have a diverse range of peers. The latencies and speeds in the speedtests I ran were all as good as I've seen elsewhere.

    Uptime

    During the 4 days before this review was written, the server had 100% uptime.

    Security

    According to spectre-meltdown-checker, mitigations for the Spectre/Meltdown CPU bugs are in place.

    Support/Communication

    I submitted a ticket on 25/09/2018 (20:42 local time for the provider) asking for an additional IPv6 address. This was provided - with a clear, helpful and friendly reply - within 14 minutes. A very impressive reply time given that it was a low priority ticket.

    Conclusions

    Although this VPS is outside the LET price range, it provides impressive and fairly stable performance. Support are fast and responsive. It will be interesting to see how it performs in the longer-term.

    I didn't realise at first that this VM has "dedicated resources". This makes it a lot more appealing for knowing I can run CPU intensive programs without causing problems.

    Comments

    • YellowHummingbird said: Note: the Cloud XL VPS used for this review was provided for free for benchmark purposes.

      YellowHummingbird said: The Cloud-XL has, at the time of test, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 4 cores (2.67GHz) and 8TB bandwidth, all for €43.95.

      Seems strange that you review on LET a VPS that would not be allowed to be promoted as an offer on LET. And naturally any benchmarks you post can't be taken as representative for performance of their LET-priced offers.

    • edited September 2018

      @rm_ said:

      YellowHummingbird said: Note: the Cloud XL VPS used for this review was provided for free for benchmark purposes.

      YellowHummingbird said: The Cloud-XL has, at the time of test, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 4 cores (2.67GHz) and 8TB bandwidth, all for €43.95.

      Seems strange that you review on LET a VPS that would not be allowed to be promoted as an offer on LET. And naturally any benchmarks you post can't be taken as representative for performance of their LET-priced offers.

      Thank you for the feedback - to be honest, I agree. I’d have been quite happy to review their smallest plan, but this is what I was given to review. They were generous, but like you say, it is a bit of a problem.

    • So much detailed review that can be strange, sounds like affiliate or paid promotion.

      Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet

    • @Hukin said:
      So much detailed review that can be strange, sounds like affiliate or paid promotion.

      Dude got a free year for it.

      Thanked by 1YellowHummingbird

      Own a piece of internets history.

    • CyberMonday said: Dude got a free year for it.

      Sure :smile:

      Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet

    • adroitssdadroitssd Member, Provider

      Disk IO is impressive.

      AdroitSSD LLC - Incredible™ Hosting Platform | In Business Since 2012

      SSD KVM VPS - Start from $6.47/mo |1 Gbit port Speed | $1/mo Softaculous | $10.95/mo CloudLinx

    Sign In or Register to comment.