[Review&SPECIAL OFFER]1Fichier - Unlimited File Hosting Storage & 100GB/mo CDN for 10€/Year
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

[Review&SPECIAL OFFER]1Fichier - Unlimited File Hosting Storage & 100GB/mo CDN for 10€/Year

YmpkerYmpker Member
edited April 2017 in General

Hello,
I have just received the following E-Mail from 1Fichier:

Hello,

Our discounts are back again, only for the 1st May week-end :

1 year Premium from 10 € (-66%) !

1 year Access from 5 € (-50%) !

Do not wait to enjoy it, not forgetting your friends !

Being a customer with them for a while I have to admit I am quite happy with their services for the price offered. I have tested them for 30 days now (back to a free account rn) and can recommend them from my personal experience. I am not affilated with them in any way (although they do have afflinks but I will not post it here).

So what is so cool about this service? Well they are in buisiness since 2009 (so quite stable), operate their own network, and offer Unlimited File Storage for their Premium Plans along with 100 GB CDN Credits per month. Now usually the Premium plan is priced at 35€ which would make me hesitate but with the 10€ per year special coming up I am totally in :-)

I have made some screenshots to let you get an idea of how it will look like (no fancy design there though):

Features:

What they don't list here is the "inline" option you have in your files dashboard. If you mark a file as "inline" you can "stream it" in your dashboard if it was a movie/image file you'd be able to see it in dashboard. You can also create various folders to seperate files. You can also sign up totally anonymously aside from your payment method being the part where you could be tracked. While this also attracts some nasty people I thought I'd mention it because I, too, enjoyed it to just not having to throw my personal details at yet another provider.

Their own Network:

Since they only offer 10GB test files and most of them stopped working I have uploaded a 1 GB test file for download. You will see some ads before downloading (most likely some pop-up) but "For testing our services we will not limit your download speed" works every 24h when you access any download link by 1Fichier which makes sharing your files with friends more comfortable as they wont need a premium account of any sort to dl at full speed.

Test file: https://1fichier.com/?hgafnkb0ob

Remote Upload & Download Speeds:

These are the dl speeds I measured with remote upload via URL. You can also upload via remote FTP which is great for backups :)

Expiration of Storage

The cool thing is even if you switch back to Free Account Status (like I am atm) your files acctually stay alive in your dashboard and the respective download links forever if you have been Premium Account before. My 100GB Test file has yet to be removed and so has the other one. This will still let you dl all your uploaded files without dl speed limits once every 24h by using their "Free Trial of our Services" where they dont limit your speeds :P

CDN

My CDN Credits did not expire either and I can - at any time - setup any of my already uploaded files as CDN :)

Legal/Mentionable stuff:

ToS

Abuse Procedure

TL;DR:

This is a great File Hosting Service and for 10€/year for UNLIMITED Storage & 100GB CDN/month you can't really go wrong. They have a nice feature set (such as operating their own network), are situated in France and are in buisiness since 2009.

  • Are people abusing their services?

--> Probably yes, given the nature of their anonymous signup policy but non noticeable downsides on my end.

  • Is there a mobile app for managing 1Fichier files?

Yes, there is: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.itgecko.sharedownloader&hl=de

  • Can I also connect & download via FTP?

--> Yeah should be possible^^

Kind regards,
Ympker

Oh and if you want to use my afflink (well, I do have one) you can kindly PM me :-)
Just felt like I would not post it here to avoid people drawing presumptous conclusions :P

«1345

Comments

  • nhocconannhocconan Member
    edited April 2017

    Nice, can you point me their CDN pops ? Read on phone so kind of difficult to find info

  • @nhocconan said:
    Nice, can you point me their CDN pops ? Read on phone so kind of difficult to find info

    Haha sure if you tell me what you mean by CDN pops? Can't follow you there :P

  • recurring or one time?

  • @Ympker said:

    @nhocconan said:
    Nice, can you point me their CDN pops ? Read on phone so kind of difficult to find info

    Haha sure if you tell me what you mean by CDN pops? Can't follow you there :P

    I means the network presence for their CDN (Points of Presence - located data centers). Just considering if I can upload movies there and watch at home, since I am in Asia, and network latency matters. If they have good network connection here, I am happy to register via your Aff link. I think you can just post it and ppl can decide to go with it or not

  • mov3mov3 Member

    Can I use for files storage?

  • @brian777 said:
    recurring or one time?

    Last time I ordered I could choose between subscribe and one time payment if I remember correctly. Choose one time back then :P

    If it is non recurring just order "Vouchers". They offer them for reselling but you can bulk purchase them 5 vouchees yielding you a 20% discount and a free 6th one on top. So youd be at ~ >50€/6years with this special

    @mov3 Yeah that is what it is meant for.

    @nhocconan

    Uhm I wouldnt really know their pops as I havent really used their cdn (check my 200gb cdn credits remaining" but I can change a file to CDN and you can try wgetting it and trace the pops. Or just do a research on their site perhaps :P

    Pm me regarding the aff. Not feeling like posting it here.

    Thanked by 1nhocconan
  • Thanks, I'll check for more information when I can open my Mac this weekend. thanks to PM me your aff link just in case I register :-). Nice post with detail info :-)

    Thanked by 1Ympker
  • @nhocconan said:
    Thanks, I'll check for more information when I can open my Mac this weekend. thanks to PM me your aff link just in case I register :-). Nice post with detail info :-)

    Sure :P PMed ya! Any questions Im here :-)

    Thanked by 1nhocconan
  • FYI: Tried to do a test download, got a porn popup. What is this? 2002?

  • @mmaster23 said:
    FYI: Tried to do a test download, got a porn popup. What is this? 2002?

    Does AdBlock work? If not try Bad Ad Johnny. Does the same but is often not detected. Anyway keep in mind with prem you wouldn't have these pop ups neither with cdn :P

  • This is a file locker. Not to be mistaken with a backup service or storage of any kind. You'll get speed restrictions, popups, malware, and absolutely no security for your files. 1Fichier is used by pirates to upload movies, TV shows and porno.

    Use at your own risk.

  • YmpkerYmpker Member
    edited April 2017

    @varunchopra said:
    This is a file locker. Not to be mistaken with a backup service or storage of any kind. You'll get speed restrictions, popups, malware, and absolutely no security for your files. 1Fichier is used by pirates to upload movies, TV shows and porno.

    Use at your own risk.

    Your files do not expire hence it has the same effect as a storage for files. I can backup the same files I would with any other storage provider. But yeah if it was a Mega.Co.Nz deal for the same price I'd go for it, too. It's not like any file hosting service is safe from pirates. Google Drive is full of them, AWS surely is and others as well. Just saying that in terms of stability and performance Ive been very happy with this service and given it is running since 2009 it seems to be built to last :)

    Shared on their FB:

    Hello,
    Some may have or still have security alerts on our services (on entire domains, not on specific file URLs).
    Mainly via Google Chrome, or Malwarebytes, according to users reports.
    Some so-called "security" services block us for unfounded reasons.
    Indeed, even with the best will of the world and totally disproportionate costs, no online storage service can avail itself of hosting viruses / malwares.
    We use bests commercial antiviruses, and they too are not mediums and can not guess today tomorrow's viruses nowadays.
    It is also inconceivable to scan petabytes of data continuously.
    It's amazing that ever big services like Google, Amazon, ... are impacted by this type of blockages.
    Our services are perfectly secure.
    Reminder: As with your emails, you should never open a suspicious file, which you do not know either the sender or the content.
    The Staff

  • fanfan Member

    10€ a year is a nice offer for storage, is it coming this weekend or the next? Also, your afflink please, thanks for the info.

  • @fan said:
    10€ a year is a nice offer for storage, is it coming this weekend or the next? Also, your afflink please, thanks for the info.

    Indeed! And with 100GB/CDN that's really nice :P

    As to the exact date I am not quite sure whether they mean the upcoming weekend or the one next week (May 6th) as they say "First May weekend"..

    Best would be to keep track of their FB that's where they seem to communicate^^

    Check your PMs :)

  • If you could send me a message with your affiliate ID that would be great. This offer looks pretty good. Hopefully it'll drop this weekend rather than next though

  • YuraYura Member

    @varunchopra said:
    1Fichier is used by pirates to upload movies, TV shows and porno.

    OMFG! I would never use storage service for such things!

    @Ympker, thanks for the post. Can someone with twitter account ask them if it's recurring price or not? That would be dandy.

    Thanked by 1Ympker
  • @Yura said:

    @varunchopra said:
    1Fichier is used by pirates to upload movies, TV shows and porno.

    OMFG! I would never use storage service for such things!

    @Ympker, thanks for the post. Can someone with twitter account ask them if it's recurring price or not? That would be dandy.

    Dont have twitter either but I guess you can contact their FB :)

    Btw even if not recurring you can still buy 5x10€ voucher for 5 Years then get 20% off so it is 40€/6 years because you get a free year on top which equals to ~7€/year or about ~0,6€/mo which is totally worth it :P

  • WSSWSS Member

    I prefer to tattoo all of my files important enough to share onto a donkey's rear because I know they'll be there when I go looking for it, even if I do need to key them back in a byte at a time.

    I won't be back until @bsdguy is released.

  • @WSS said:
    I prefer to tattoo all of my files important enough to share onto a donkey's rear because I know they'll be there when I go looking for it, even if I do need to key them back in a byte at a time.

    Taking the 3-2-1 backup rule to the extreme?

  • WSSWSS Member

    @iamthepizza I call it AssCDN.

    Thanked by 1deadbeef

    I won't be back until @bsdguy is released.

  • YuraYura Member

    @WSS said:
    @iamthepizza I call it AssCDN.

    ContentDoNkey

    Thanked by 4WSS Ympker deadbeef tmwc
  • @WSS I'm interested... how much per gb per month? And what are the PoPs?

  • WSSWSS Member

    @iamthepizza It's a bit expensive, as the donkeys are essentially WORM devices- which reminds me- DO NOT KISS THEM!

    I won't be back until @bsdguy is released.

  • WSSWSS Member

    Here are the various AssCDN pops:

    Turkey:

    Canada:

    France:

    United States:

    Please be aware that the US AssCDN is still in Beta, and both data and accounts are known to disappear when they utilize too many resources. We were investigating this issue, but then just dropped it.

    Thanked by 3MasonR Yura DewlanceVPS

    I won't be back until @bsdguy is released.

  • BG32BG32 Member
    edited April 2017

    It's all good being on premium but if you want to share files with those not it's a fat load of limitware. I'll stick to google drive which incase you haven't figured out is In fact a cdn

    Thanked by (44)

  • @BG32 said:
    It's all good being on premium but if you want to share files with those not it's a fat load of limitware. I'll stick to google drive which incase you haven't figured out is In fact a cdn

    Well I intend to use it for private use only and if I share something it is via CDN :P
    Anyway I can see the benefits from Google Drive, too. Just that the pricing of 1Fichier is very attractive and its feature set suits my needs^^

  • YuraYura Member

    How much unlimited really is? That would be nice to know, to have healthy expectations and not abuse services too.

    Google and Amazon are more reputable and their "unlimited" is known to be rather big, but they can't beat $10/y, so no competition on the price here.

  • @Yura said:
    How much unlimited really is? That would be nice to know, to have healthy expectations and not abuse services too.

    Google and Amazon are more reputable and their "unlimited" is known to be rather big, but they can't beat $10/y, so no competition on the price here.

    Hmm I know some ppl who have terabytes of media on 1Fichier but I couldnt find a limit in their ToS either

    Thanked by 1Yura
  • snzsnz Member

    Is this somehow mountable or does it have an API for up+download?

  • @snz said:
    Is this somehow mountable or does it have an API for up+download?

    Dont think so, no.

  • BochiBochi Member
    edited April 2017

    @Ympker said:

    @snz said:
    Is this somehow mountable or does it have an API for up+download?

    Dont think so, no.

    Well, you might be wrong: https://1fichier.com/hlp.html#devupload :)
    No mounting though and only some hacked together functionality.

    Thanked by 1Ympker
  • @Bochi said:

    @Ympker said:

    @snz said:
    Is this somehow mountable or does it have an API for up+download?

    Dont think so, no.

    Well, you might be wrong: https://1fichier.com/hlp.html#devupload :)
    No mounting though and only some hacked together functionality.

    Ah sweet :P Well I might just play around with this :)

    Thanks for the heads-up!

  • "Unlimited" storage at 10€/y? Um I doubt it.

  • WSSWSS Member

    @willie said:
    "Unlimited" storage at 10€/y? Um I doubt it.

    Sketchy service with sketchy terms for a low price!?
    WHAT COULD GO WRONG!?

    I won't be back until @bsdguy is released.

  • YmpkerYmpker Member
    edited April 2017

    @willie said:
    "Unlimited" storage at 10€/y? Um I doubt it.

    Well with 10€/y you cant really loose much, eh? That being said I know some ppl who host 1TB+ of media there so it seems like you can make use of the space plus my 100GB file is still existing on my free acc^^

    Nonetheless it's your call ofc :P Given they are in business since 2009 they seem pretty stable^^

  • Ympker said:

    Well with 10€/y you cant really loose much, eh

    You can't lose much money, obviously. The more important question is how much data you can lose.

    Thanked by 1DewlanceVPS
  • @willie said:

    Ympker said:

    Well with 10€/y you cant really loose much, eh

    You can't lose much money, obviously. The more important question is how much data you can lose

    I wont be storing any crucial data there or atleast not without having a second backup elsewhere

    Thanked by 1DewlanceVPS
  • I'm here with they +3years without any problem or lose any data mine.

    Pretty good service.

    Thanked by 3Ympker fan vimalware
  • anybody tried the FTP feature? If this is sorking it can be nice backup solution for NAS (encrypted backup of course)

  • YmpkerYmpker Member
    edited April 2017
  • mov3mov3 Member

    No payapl.

    Save my money.

  • YmpkerYmpker Member
    edited April 2017

    The offer is LIVE
    You can now order using BTC for 10€/year!

    Just ordered myself 1 year via BTC :P Confirmation was only seconds after I ordered^^

    @mov3 said:
    No payapl.

    Save my money.

    I can get you a Voucher with btc perhaps :P

  • didtavdidtav Member
    edited April 2017

    not exactly 10€

  • @didtav said:
    not exactly 10€

    With BTC you get another 20% off the 12€/year amounting to a total of 10€ :)

  • 1fichier.com has been around a while, so they must be doing something right. The free accounts have a number of limitations, which probably discourages abusers (or they go elsewhere). This service can certainly be used for backup (which seems to be its intended purpose), but don't expect to be able to do any synchronization of files. But it's nice that standard protocols are used, so no proprietary software is needed. In any case, the promotional pricing is certainly attractive.

    Thanked by 1Ympker

    "[...] the Linux philosophy is 'laugh in the face of danger'. Oops. Wrong one. 'Do it yourself'. That's it." (L. Torvalds)

  • Ympker said: The cool thing is even if you switch back to Free Account Status (like I am atm) your files acctually stay alive in your dashboard and the respective download links forever if you have been Premium Account before.

    I couldn't find any statement on the site that would confirm this (and it wouldn't make much business-sense on their part, I think), so it may be best not to assume that this is the case. (Or have I missed something?)

    Ympker said: My 100GB Test file has yet to be removed and so has the other one.

    But, assuming that you're registered, your 100GB file is very recent, and as for the other one, it would suffice to have downloaded it recently.

    "[...] the Linux philosophy is 'laugh in the face of danger'. Oops. Wrong one. 'Do it yourself'. That's it." (L. Torvalds)

  • @angstrom said:

    Ympker said: The cool thing is even if you switch back to Free Account Status (like I am atm) your files acctually stay alive in your dashboard and the respective download links forever if you have been Premium Account before.

    I couldn't find any statement on the site that would confirm this (and it wouldn't make much business-sense on their part, I think), so it may be best not to assume that this is the case. (Or have I missed something?)

    Ympker said: My 100GB Test file has yet to be removed and so has the other one.

    But, assuming that you're registered, your 100GB file is very recent, and as for the other one, it would suffice to have downloaded it recently.

    Hmm..when comparing plans it says premium file links never expire.

    This is the Email I received after ordering:

    Hello,

    We confirm your payment for a 1 year subscription at price of 10 euros
    Transaction reference : 1563706

    Your subscription allows you :

    • to direct dowload files bypassing the advertising page
    • No expiration for you account's files

    1fichier.com

  • Ympker said: Hmm..when comparing plans it says premium file links never expire.

    This is the Email I received after ordering:

    "Hello,

    We confirm your payment for a 1 year subscription at price of 10 euros Transaction reference : 1563706

    Your subscription allows you : - to direct dowload files bypassing the advertising page - No expiration for you account's files

    1fichier.com"

    Oh, I don't doubt that if you're a Premium subscriber, then your files don't expire (for this is what the site also says), but I don't read this as also saying "If you stop being a Premium subscriber at some point, then your files don't expire" (which is the reading that you suggested).

    I agree that the wording of the message from 1fichier.com is not so clear in this respect, but if you think about it, it would be strange to grant to all former Premium subscribers the advantage of files that don't expire, which is precisely one of the main advantages that Premium subscribers pay for.

    "[...] the Linux philosophy is 'laugh in the face of danger'. Oops. Wrong one. 'Do it yourself'. That's it." (L. Torvalds)

  • @angstrom said:

    Ympker said: Hmm..when comparing plans it says premium file links never expire.

    This is the Email I received after ordering:

    "Hello,

    We confirm your payment for a 1 year subscription at price of 10 euros Transaction reference : 1563706

    Your subscription allows you : - to direct dowload files bypassing the advertising page - No expiration for you account's files

    1fichier.com"

    Oh, I don't doubt that if you're a Premium subscriber, then your files don't expire (for this is what the site also says), but I don't read this as also saying "If you stop being a Premium subscriber at some point, then your files don't expire" (which is the reading that you suggested).

    I agree that the wording of the message from 1fichier.com is not so clear in this respect, but if you think about it, it would be strange to grant to all former Premium subscribers the advantage of files that don't expire, which is precisely one of the main advantages that Premium subscribers pay for.

    Yeah I see where you are coming from. But taking this deal of 40€/6 years premium I am totally fine for non crucial data I guess^^

    Thanked by 1angstrom
  • Ympker said: Yeah I see where you are coming from. But taking this deal of 40€/6 years premium I am totally fine for non crucial data I guess^^

    I was just trying to clarify ... :-)

    Thanked by 1Ympker

    "[...] the Linux philosophy is 'laugh in the face of danger'. Oops. Wrong one. 'Do it yourself'. That's it." (L. Torvalds)

Sign In or Register to comment.