Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is it possible to access BGP anywhere for free? / IPv6 block anyone?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Is it possible to access BGP anywhere for free? / IPv6 block anyone?

Hi folks,

this might be one of those stupid questions, but I really wanted to ask. I'm a computer engineer interested in networking, and dealing with BGP is one of those pending issues for me. I was able to study and use most of the protocols, but finding access to a real BGP session has been the hardest task for me.

I understand the security issues involved with BGP, but I wonder if it's possible to have access in a way that I can't announce but only resolve routes.

I think HE allows access to a BGP session when you want to announce a IPv6 block, but I don't own any of this blocks.

Can anybody shed some light on this?
Is it possible to access BGP without announcing?
Is it possible to access BGP through HE when bringing my IPv6 block? In that case, can anybody provide me one of these? :P

Thanks,
lm

Comments

• Awmusic12635Awmusic12635 Member, Host Rep
    edited February 2015

BGP looking glass from one of the bandwidth carriers is an option. Other option is to get someone with access to lookup routes for you.

• patrick7patrick7 Member, LIR

If you're in the RIPE service region, you can get a Provider Independent IPv6 network and an AS Number from them. Then, you can use Tunnelbroker with a BGP tunnel.

• patrick7 said: If you're in the RIPE service region, you can get a Provider Independent IPv6 network and an AS Number from them. Then, you can use Tunnelbroker with a BGP tunnel.

How much would that cost?

• AmfyAmfy Member
    edited February 2015

gsrdgrdghd said: How much would that cost?