Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Can I run an email server, ownCloud and ZNC on 256MB?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Can I run an email server, ownCloud and ZNC on 256MB?

Hey! I'm a newbie to VPS's, and I am considering buying a 256MB server from RamNode. I want to use it to host a simple email server (only 1 account), an ownCloud server (1 account) and a ZNC IRC bouncer (also 1 account). Would I be able to do this on just 256MB?

Comments

• AnthonySmithAnthonySmith Member, Patron Provider

yep. obviously you will have some limits but you should be able to manage that fine.

Thanked by 1Azure
  • NeoonNeoon Community Contributor, Veteran

E-Mail + ZNC on 64MB Yes, OwnCloud on 128MB Yes so i would say Yes, better would if you have some swap left.

Thanked by 1Azure
  • I run OpenVPN, OwnCloud and psyBNC at 128MB Ramnode vps.

• AzureAzure Member
    edited November 2014

@Spirit said:
    I run OpenVPN, OwnCloud and psyBNC at 128MB Ramnode vps.

Out of curiosity, may I ask how much of that 128MB is being used on normal load?

• If you have a lot of files, Owncloud would be hard pressed to run in 256MB between its PHP files and MySQL requirements.

At a minimum, you'd need to turn off indexing and encryption.

• 
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:           128         95         32          0          0         80
    -/+ buffers/cache:         15        112
    Swap:          128         51         76

It's not much left, but your 256MB should be OK.

Thanked by 1Azure
  • @joshin said:
    If you have a lot of files, Owncloud would be hard pressed to run in 256MB between its PHP files and MySQL requirements.