Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Fastest way to transfer 1 TB of data between two dedicated servers? Maybe sync job too?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Fastest way to transfer 1 TB of data between two dedicated servers? Maybe sync job too?

aFriendaFriend Member

If someone has 2 dedicated servers (no private network), what is the fastest way to transport batches of data that can range between 10 GB to 600GB each? So far I use rsync over ssh. Any faster options?
Also, any helpful scripts, etc to set this up as a daily batch sync job? Im not an expert at setting up VPN, etc.. not sure if some sort of tunneling can help here.

Comments

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

said: So far I use rsync over ssh. Any faster options?

In theory, normal rsync (i.e., port 873 - not over ssh) would be faster because it's not encrypted and there isn't the ssh protocol overhead.

However (a) it's not encrypted, and (b) modern CPUs are fast enough that you'd be hard pressed to observe the difference. rsync does have its own access control (IP) and password auth - I use it for backups so the master can only pull read-only data.

Fundamentally, you're moving blocks over the network. Since the network is the slowest point and you can't change it...ftp, rsync, scp, etc. are all going to have similar times.

A couple things you could do:

(a) compress on the fly or compress before sending
    (b) it's faster to transfer one big tar file than a million small files (less metadata)

Thanked by 1aFriend
  • jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran
    edited May 2014

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway. –Andrew Tanenbaum

• bobbybobby Member