Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Box vs Dropbox? True reviews from real users needed...
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Box vs Dropbox? True reviews from real users needed...

MichaelBuiMichaelBui Member
edited January 2014 in General

Anyone tried those 2 services recently? If so, can you compare the sync speed in details?

(E.g: I heard many times that Dropbox is faster than Box but I need to know how much it is faster...)

Comments

• They both have free options why not try them for yourself. I personal like dropbox and dropbox doesn't have a file size limit like box does.

• I've been using Dropbox for about 3 or 4 years now. I've used Box.com for a few months but i didn't like their 250MB per file limit. Dropbox is fast for me, Box.com is slow(er) for me, if i need to guess, it's about 25-30% slower than Dropbox

• tommytommy Member
    edited January 2014

personally I prefer dropbox because they have linux client and faster than box.com.

I've been using dropbox for 2 years

• I've tried moving away from Dropbox multiple times... but its just the best.

• +1 for DropBox. In my country, DropBox is much faster than Box. In addition, Dropbox has nice client software in various platforms.

• irmirm Member

Big fan of Dropbox and their linux software.

• Dropbox is faster than box, but box had a 50Gb give away not long ago.

Box doesn't have a Linux client although you can mount it with davfs (even slower speeds then!)...

You can easily max out your Dropbox referrals with a fake mail generator and a few droplets from Digital Ocean ;)