Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Virtualization on your laptop
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Virtualization on your laptop

vampireJvampireJ Member
edited September 2011 in Tutorials

Hi guys!

Recently my work laptop is "acting" up. And I am planning to buy a new one. I have decided on a particular laptop model (acer 4552g cheap one at only about $700) with a phenom n930 quad core- cpu has amd-v support.

After careful thought- I have decided to use virtualization on my laptop. As I am a programmer, I have thought about the benefits of using virtualization in my work. so anyway-

my questions are-

1. Anybody with this kind of setup?
  2. What virtualization do you use- as I would be using graphical guests (and graphical host as well)- I think virtualbox would have to be the easiest. I am thinking my host is debian (which I would not be upgrading at all after a while) and my primary guest is ubuntu- which would be primarily my work environment as well.
  3. How do you find working in a guest os? Is it easy- any lags, comfortable etc

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• yomeroyomero Member
    edited September 2011

For me, VMware has been the best solution, of course isn't free.

Virtualization is comfortable if you will not do heavy graphical (3d) tasks. And probably will be better if your host is windows because some problems with drivers and so (I had problems with Virtualbox and Linux hosts).

And about Having AMD-v or Intel-vt... I have been virtualizing since Athlon XP processors without problems, and for me doesn't show any significant gain.

• Normally I use VMWare Server / VirtualBox.

My experience with them is that it works very well even on my Core Duo Laptop. No lag in Graphical environment.