Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Just got a 1GB RAM 1.2GB vSwap 4 vCPU Core VPS and ruuing Wordpress OS question.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Just got a 1GB RAM 1.2GB vSwap 4 vCPU Core VPS and ruuing Wordpress OS question.

DISCLAIMER I'm a newb

Hi LEB,
Don't be too harsh on me, I tired researching and also installed via scripts found in the wiki but still have a few qustions.

My end goal is to use this for a solid development box or possible use to host if its good enough.

My shared hosting uses centos currently
but I want to set up a reverse proxy (possibly Varnish)
and run Nginx, all for speed improvements
As Ill be running a Buddypress network and want to have a speedy site.

the Specs are:
1GB RAM
1.2GB vSwap
4 vCPU Cores
30GB Disk space
1TB Bandwidth
100Mbps uplink
1x IPv4 address
OpenVZ/SolusVM

OS wise will runing Ubuntu over Centos or Debian really hurt me memory resource wise. I want to run everything as fast as possible but lso want to have compatibility and an option (free) to push via something like Chef Rex, etc but I don't know much about compatibilities and don't yet have the knowledge to trouble shoot.

Any suggestions on the best OS for that,

I also am looking for complete bash scripts to help me test different options but want to have the easiest learning curve.
For those who may ask I usually learn best by taking things apart to reassemble them , so getting the best image to work with will help me out the best in learning more about managing a box myself,

Thank you for your help

Comments

• jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran