Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Linode 2GB -vs- Ramnode 4GB?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Linode 2GB -vs- Ramnode 4GB?

Debating between Linode 2GB or Ramnode 4GB plan. Both are similarly priced with a Ramnode coupon.

Looking for a solution with minimal downtime and fast speeds for a SQL-hungry script. I'm leaning towards Ramnode, but it seems they get DDOS'ed quite often.

Thanked by 1jimpop

Comments

• I have been using Linode for several years. Just checked my uptime and it has 180 days, and that is because I rebooted. They are rock solid, highly dependable, and rarely cut off/reboot your services if they are highly used.

• A production environment I will recommend Linode.
    Ramnode is good as well but definitely you cant compare them with Linode directly.

However - if location is not a restriction why dnt you use HA supported IWSTACK ? Uncle and Mao do a very good job and HA keeps them failover supported.

• just go for a dedi if your budget is over $50 :E

• matthewvzmatthewvz Member, Host Rep

I'm very happy with RamNode. I have a DDoS protected SSD-Cached KVM with them and its never really gone down.

Thanked by 2Nick_A Asim
  • darknessends said: A production environment I will recommend Linode. Ramnode is good as well but definitely you cant compare them with Linode directly.

Exactly, because Ramnode won't lose your credit card details to a bunch of script kiddies

Thanked by 3Nick_A Asim Cakey
  • sundaymousesundaymouse Member
    edited November 2013

Trust me, for mission-critical tasks, go for Linode. Ramnode is good, but they are relatively more likely to get robertclarked(ie. hacked, downtime and potential data loss) than Linode.