marketing 201: the $equel
alas, the sequel to marketing 101.
had quite a few request a sequel, and even one who put it into practice and got approximately 200+ pending orders with recurring revenue within 24 hours @ezeth
so, long story short i figured i'd write another:
scarcity sells, that's a given.
it can be time, or quantity, but if you give a set amount WITH a countdown, you'll do great.
and it depends on the offer, if time doesn't make sense, use quantity, if quantity doesn't make sense, use time. but scarcity will always AT LEAST double your sales.
there's a reason why holidays like black friday were invented by marketers, it's solely scarcity.
frequently in the low end space people are afraid to make big guarantees. of course every customer isn't going to be a good customer, but if you set an outrageous guarantee that'll attract more good customers than bad.
here's an example: 90 day refund guarantee, double your money back guarantee, if your service doesn't work perfectly, then i'll personally offer you sys admin services to get everything working perfectly, etc.
remove buyer friction.
10) people buy offers NOT products.
bundle your product up. people aren't buying your VPS's, they're buying your offers.
for example: 1gb ram, 1 cpu, etc + 1tb back up, plus ApisCP (best panel out, shout out to @nem). the better the offer the better.
but most importantly don't forget you're not selling a service, you're selling an offer.
11) nobody loves anything more than they love the word free.
i had great success writing copy in the ecom space offering free + shipping, the product was free but the shipping was $9.95.
guess what? that $9.95 covered the product, shipping, and marketing expenses, with upsells that generated on average in that specific funnel an AOV of $36.
position things as free, when you really know your selling something entirely different on the backend.
which leads me to my next point..
this is what makes subscriptions king. let's say you're advertising a $1 trial then convert them to ~$50 per year and keep them for 3 years on average, that's an LTV of $150.
marketing companies will keep track of you the moment you click the ad to infinity, beyond facebooks pixels. they know their numbers.
that means you can spend up to $150 to acquire a customer to break even and keep building your brand & email list.
if you only spend $75, you double it.
if your competition can only spend $100, you beat them.
that brings us to the end of part 2, might make a part 3.
your reject sirfoxy.