Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Cheap dedicated servers, does location matter?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Cheap dedicated servers, does location matter?

Ian_Dot_TechIan_Dot_Tech Member, Patron Provider

Just looking to get thoughts regarding if a server is really cheap within the US if the location matters.

With our company which has built its services in a large city, Dallas, TX I have no experience with other less known locations. I know hosts such as Decentec are in a less known city and do well.

When you find an amazing deal on a server, does the location matter for you if it's in the US?
Such as 5 hours outside of a major hub.

Any input is appreciated.

Comments

• bruh21bruh21 Member, Host Rep

depends what you are using it for i suppose

Thanked by 1Ian_Dot_Tech
  • AXYZEAXYZE Member
    edited July 2021

I always just check ping with test IP. If Los Angeles, Seattle and New York pings are not higher than 60ms then I don't care.

Dallas is okay, but ping to Seattle can be a little big high so I prefer something more north. I don't setup many US servers (maybe 3 times this year) tho so I don't have experience which location would be the best.

Thanked by 1Ian_Dot_Tech
  • imokimok Member
    edited July 2021

For my Latin America connection purposes... Dallas is the best. Actually Miami is the best but it's more expensive.

I used to buy in other locations only when an amazing deal appeared.

Thanked by 1Ian_Dot_Tech
  • xiblxibl Member

Location matters huge ! of course it does

• alexvolkalexvolk Member
    edited July 2021

@Ian_Dot_Tech said: Decentec

Are you scared of competition? Dacentec is the correct company name

--
    Removed.

• DPDP Administrator, The Domain Guy