Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to access dedicated server via IPMI
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How to access dedicated server via IPMI

aliletalilet Member

I have got a dedicated server on which I want to install Windows OS. How and from where can I access IPMI to install OS? I have never done this before.

Here's screenshot of control panel:

When I click on "Open Supermicro IPMI Web Control Panel" then it opens a new window like this:

Clicking on "Launch KVM" downloads viewer.jnlp file in my PC and nothing happens.

Currently CentOS is installed and I can reload OS from provided OS list but they are all Linux flavours. I want to install Windows.

Comments

• MarcoooMarcooo Member, Host Rep

If the ipmi is not working with the provided ipmi ip then there is something wrong by the hoster. Contact them.

• @alilet said:
    I have got a dedicated server on which I want to install Windows OS. How and from where can I access IPMI to install OS? I have never done this before.

When I click on "Open Supermicro IPMI Web Control Panel" then it opens a new window like this:

Clicking on "Launch KVM" downloads viewer.jnlp file in my PC and nothing happens.

Currently CentOS is installed and I can reload OS from provided OS list but they are all Linux flavours. I want to install Windows.

Your provider should have sent you an insurrection on your welcome email. Usually which also tells you to connect to some form of VPN or IP white listing tool.

Refer to the welcome email. If nothing there, contact them.

• I have opened a ticket so let's see. It did ask me to white list IP when before I opened this control panel but not for IPMI itself.