Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Looking to hire a dev to re-code LEB Theme - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Looking to hire a dev to re-code LEB Theme

2»

Comments

• @yoursunny said:
    Yes, I have AJAX aka XmlHttpRequest. The comments API is a separate app on the same server.

Good, now it's clear that you're a little bit new to the JAMstack term and still doesn't know that JAMStack doesn't mean it's a static site at all.

Just sit down and have a read:
    https://css-tricks.com/5-myths-about-jamstack/
    https://jamstack.wtf/#dynamic-parts

and then come back arguing your site from 2007 is a JAMstack which fetches comments via Ajax that simply can't be correctly indexed by search engines.

• When I was a noob I would find another theme and change the css until it looked like the other one :O

• jsgjsg Member, Resident Benchmarker

I think, @raindog308 nailed it quite well. Wordpress may be a sh_tty software seen from a pro developers point, but it pretty much is what FrontPage was 15 years ago: The way to somehow put something like a website together and used by millions upon millions of people - which also means that it needs to and does address a certain low-skill clientele (not few of which consider themselves to be developers).

Second big point raindog308 got nicely right: it's the aeon old story of efforts vs need. The two extremes are (a) we need something going and our primary focus is content, and (b) we need something that is fast and/or secure and/or safe and/or multi-server or multi-location and/or low-latency and/or ...

The former must and will use some hip clickedy click solution and the latter have engineers figuring out an optimized solution.