Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do you secure your server?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How do you secure your server?

uzaysanuzaysan Member

I'm pretty new at this topic. I have used remote server for long time. But It was for just development. And I didn't care about security. But now server may go to production. I wanna secure my server.

What do you suggest me? What do you do when you secure your server?

I changed the SSH port to different one. Added SSH key with pass pharase. What are the next steps I should take?

Comments

• ViridWebViridWeb Member, Host Rep

Firewall? Maybe disabled the root and create new user with sudo?

There are may things to do. So specific answer

Or hire an Admin?

Thanked by 1uzaysan
  • @ViridWeb said:
    Firewall? Maybe disabled the root and create new user with sudo?

There are may things to do. So specific answer

Or hire an Admin?

Yeah. Disableing root user and create one sounds good idea. I will check for firewall.

• uzaysan said: But now server may go to production.

Securing a server is not just about installing firewall, disable root, etc... You think it is ok but in the background, hackers are now trying to get in to some of your sites, doing something this and that which for sure, you are not aware of. It takes a lot of effort and not just by installing something and let it run/do the work.

• jonesolutions said: It takes a lot of effort and not just by installing something and let it run/do the work.

Yes that's why I'm asking. What can I do beyond enabling firewall or installing programs?

• With a password.

1. Update your system
    2. block unwanted ports, if you've a static IP. lock down login to that IP