Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

DNS/(a/mx)records/Cloudflare Questions
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

DNS/(a/mx)records/Cloudflare Questions

decaydecay Member

So, sorry if i shouldn't ask these questions here, if so pm me and delete this thread...

Im quite new to this, and wanted some help/opinions on setting up my servers/domains properly. So, i read somewhere that people were recommending cloudflare as a great dns manager, so i thought i would give them a try.

What i did/already-have:
mydomain.com (lets say this is my domain 1) registered at godaddy, nameservers setup to use cloudflare, and setup the domain at cloud flare. all the correct a records etc on cloudflare for that domain is pointing to 1.2.3.4 (lets say this is my server ip). So, all is working fine/great.

Now my question is, if i ever change my server, and if i own more than 1 domain (i do), i would go through and change all the ip addresses of every domain to the new servers ip address (say 5.6.7.8). To me, this sounds like a pretty terrible way of doing this. Is there no way to define the A/MX (or what ever else) records in the form of server1ipaddress.myotherdomain.com (assuming this domain/A-record is set to the correct ip address)? And this way, all i need to do when migrating servers is to change the ip address on that one place and everything will be fine..

Anyone have any experience and solution for my problem?

Comments

• pkr5770pkr5770 Member
    edited August 2013

Hey

What your looking to do is add CNAME Records so for example:

CNAME www.domain2.com alias of www.domain1.com