Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[HELP] Game servers required resources
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

[HELP] Game servers required resources

RamiRami Member
edited December 2019 in Help

Hi guys,
I'm a newbie when it comes to game servers stuff and I want to run a few game servers for some friends but I'm not sure about required recourses, Is a VPS enough(1or 2GB Ram+ 1vCPU + 30GB or more of storage)?
Games are (will be installed separately) :
1- CS: GO (20+ slots)
2- CS: CZ (20+ slots)
3- Day of defeat (source as well) (20+ slots)
4- GTA San Andreas (50+ slots)
Maybe more games later
Edit: I tried installing on VPS and everything was fine but because there were no players the load was very low
Thanks in advance guys

Comments

• monitor with usage, since CS:GO and CS:? servers can get CPU hungry. Also DoD and SAMP require more of a good disk/io throughput and memory. I think you'd be better of with a little bigger of a VM.

Edit: could you also post the output of a ''df -h'' to see disk usage?

Thanked by 1Rami
  • You need a dedicated server or at least a VPS with dedicated cores. I run a 8 slot fps game server on an $25/month old i3 dedicated server and it still lags sometimes when all 8 slots are full. Or maybe you can go with gameservers.com, they have lots of locations and relatively cheap price. It's also easier to manage since everything is done through their control panel.

Hosting FPS games on a VPS with only 1 shared core is really a bad idea. Your server might get throttled or even suspended depending on providers.

Thanked by 1Rami