Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dedicated Server question
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Dedicated Server question

I use a social media automation bot currently running 400 accounts off of a dual core i5 12gb ram laptop. It works great but I'd like to move it over to a dedicated server however I don't seem to have any luck with providers. Every time I use a dedicated server the amount of operations performed daily gets cut in half which is a big problem. I'm a bit of a novice here but do I need more cores or more ram for this? I had a dedicated server with 32gb and it still didn't work. Thanks.

Comments

• MikeAMikeA Member, Patron Provider
    edited November 2018

What was the CPU of the server you had that had half the ops of your i5? I don't think anyone can give you an answer since it depends on the software.

• donlidonli Member
    edited November 2018

Well if you have 2 identical computers with identical software and same type of internet connections they should perform the same. So ask yourself what's different from your laptop version compared to the dedicated server version?

How much memory, cpu and internet bandwidth does your bot need?

Is there any way to modify your bot to see where the bottleneck might be?

• The dedicated server had more bandwidth so I don't think it's that. The server was using Intel Xeon E3-1270v3 (4x3.5GHz) with 32gb ram and 240 gb SSD and still wasn't working as well as the laptop. Bandwidth of the server was 10TB @ 1Gbps. I can't modify the bot as I license it and wouldn't even know where to start with that.

• @deathpriest said: