Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to Choose a Dedicated Server
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How to Choose a Dedicated Server

Hi,

I have looked through as many topics as I can in here, I have some questions for the seasoned pros. I am new to this, so forgive me if I am not using the right terms.

I am currently looking to get a dedicated server, due to data security concerns. It is not top secret kind, but the clients and the bosses are sensitive about leaking data. OpenVZ is out of the question because the host user can gain access to the containers as root anytime. KVM, I think could be problematic too, at least prone to the Spectre and Meltdown issues. Correct me on this assumption if I am mistaken. In my mind, I am looking for a colo setup with leased servers.

This is also why I don't want to go with RamNode or DO, which have only virtualized instances, meaning at least some part of the physical computer is shared with someone else. I have looked through https://www.serverhunter.com for potential dedicated providers. My questions are:

1. How reliable are the dedicated server providers, like Nocix, Dacentec and Dedimax? Do you have any recommendations on reputable providers?

2. Are the servers good for production workloads? I will mostly run DB and ElasticSearch clusters.

3. If I get dedicated, am I the only person who can gain access to the entire server equipment and the data, provided that I do all the encryption stuff correctly? I understand that the provider operator can take away the server, and re-provision (format) it for someone else, but at least my data is safely encrypted.

4. Any recommendations on Intel or AMD processors, after the latest patch from Intel and AMD?