Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Does any one use dedi server or VPS as workstation?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Does any one use dedi server or VPS as workstation?

letrocksletrocks Member
edited August 2018 in General

I am a developer and I don't use VPS for commercial purposes. I only use it for personal legal use.

I have a i7-950, 24GB RAM, 3 separate SSDs system. Between the moves, I haven't been turning it on. Also windows 10 update has stopped.
(One of the idea is to install Linux directly and use it, or use proxmox and install it. User port forwarding etc.. to access remotely. However upstream bandwidth sucks from the ISP 5mbps. )

A new system would easily cost me over $1200 or a good laptop would cost me $1800.
So renting seems like a good idea, specially when you get good pricing from netcup or hetzner.

So given that fact, I am even thinking about renting a dedicated server or a good VPS to use it as a "cloud" workstation. So I am price sensitive and afraid of long commitments.

I plan to have at least 32GB RAM as I plan to run some analytics and machine learning algorithms. I can practically live with under 1TB bandwidth.

Is this a popular idea? Has anyone tried this?

Comments

• oneilonlineoneilonline Member, Host Rep

Uhmm...there was a thread not too long ago, ok, maybe it was long time ago... with a poll asking how many people work via RDP. This also enabled working from multiple locations and not having to close anything.

I think in your case, @ 5mpbs, it would SUCK. I think your priority should be getting a better ISP ;)

• FHRFHR Member, Host Rep