Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Economics of starting a VPS Host
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Economics of starting a VPS Host

DriftpeasantDriftpeasant Member
edited April 2013 in General

So if this has been covered in other threads, please forgive me - my search-fu did not find them.

I'm a sysadmin with datacenter experience, and a friend of mine and I were thinking about going into the VPS business. The economics of it, though, seem bad, so I'm hoping someone can correct my math or my assumptions.

Please note, all prices below are in USD:

I've got a quote on colocation for a 20 Amp circuit, a 20Mb/s pipe, and a rack for 700/month at a cheap, but good, colo facility (an ISP around here rents out part of their space as colo - no management, but the power and cooling also serve their core network gear, so it's very reliable).

I can get a dual proc 8-core Opteron box with 64GB of RAM and 8TB of storage for about 4300. I can get a NAS that can backup 3 servers for 4400. PDU for the rack is 350, switch for private networking is 200, a Mikrotik router to handle the traffic is 400, and I'd need a box to run the control panel and handle monitoring for the VMhosts (750).

So:

Capital Expenditure:

3 servers (2 active, 1 hotspare) - 12900
1 NAS (backup) - 4400
Web/monitoring server - 750
Network gear - 600
PDU - 350

Total: 19000

Monthly operating expenses:

Rack/power/internet: 700
SolusVM: 30
WHMCS: 18.95

Total: ~750 (rounding up for easier math)