Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

need help with bash script
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

need help with bash script

perryoo11perryoo11 Member
edited August 2017 in Help

hey folks

i just started learning how to make my own bash scripts.
now i just need to know how to make a script that detects distribution.

i want to support:

debian

centos 6 + 7

ubuntu any version if possible

does any of you know a place to find a good tuturial?

thanks
perry

Comments

• if [ $Operating_System == "CentOS" ]

then

echo "CentOS";

# Do this

elif [ $Operating_System == "Ubuntu" ]

then

echo "Ubuntu";

# Do that

else

echo "Unsupported Operating System";

fi

i just want it like this way if possible

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

perryoo11 said: i just want it like this way if possible

No one's going to write the script for you.

@MasonR posted a link that has info on how you can determine the OS and distribution. The top-voted response on that SE link shows you how very easy this is: source /etc/os-release and play with the variables.

What is your question?

• MasonRMasonR Community Contributor
    OS=$(lsb_release -si)
    if [ "$OS" = "Ubuntu" ] ; then
        echo "Ubuntu"
        # do whatever
    elif [ "$OS" = "CentOS" ] ; then
        echo "CentOS"
        # do whatever
    else
        echo "You're SOL."
    fi

Thanked by 1perryoo11
  • perryoo11perryoo11 Member
    edited August 2017

@raindog308 said:

perryoo11 said: i just want it like this way if possible

No one's going to write the script for you.