Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Infrastructure guidance for video sharing app.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Infrastructure guidance for video sharing app.

goldhatgoldhat Member
edited August 2017 in Help

Hi all,

I am building an iOS app (and soon on Android and Web) that allows users to watch and share videos - it's different to YouTube in ways not relevant to my question.

It's my first time building a product of my own that will (hopefully) scale - and I don't want to make mistakes in the start with regards to the infrastructure around it.

Here's what I have in mind already - would love it if you guys could critique/make suggestions to it:

Server 1:
- Dedicated server, 6C, 32GB RAM
This is where we will be hosting the PHP code and the MySQL Database

Server 2:
- Dedicated server, 8C, 32GB RAM
This is where videos that are over 480p would be uploaded to to be transcoded to 480p before being sent to S3

AWS S3
Used for storage of all videos

AWS Cloudfront
CDN for delivery of video

Here is the flow of a video that's uploaded by a user on the app:

User > Transcoding Server > S3 > Cloudfront > Mobile App

in the case the video is lower than 480p it would go straight to S3.

What do you guys think? Any way I can optimise this further?

Comments

• ClouviderClouvider Member, Patron Provider

You checked the pricing of AWS services right ?

Thanked by 1Aidan
  • @Clouvider said:

Yes which is why I chose to move my transcoding to a dedicated server since that was the most expensive part of the system.

• You know that AWS Unlimited Storage is soon a thing of the past?

• TomTom Member

@Ympker said:
    You know that AWS Unlimited Storage is soon a thing of the past?

I think he's talking about S3?

@goldhat said: