Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Amazon S3 for server backups
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Amazon S3 for server backups

drdrakedrdrake Member

Hello,

I am using Hetzner's first storage plan (100gb) for some server backups. I am thinking of switching to Amazon S3 because I want to pay for resources I use and not more.

My setup is this:

I backup var-slash-www to a tar archive to mtn-slash-files. I also backups databases using automysqlbackup to mnt-slash-databases. Files are automatically uploaded to my storage plan via webDAV.

I am looking for the best way to backup these files to amazon s3. I am new to amazon s3 and I have read a few articles in this field but I was wondering if any of you have a similar setup and would like to offer suggestions.

Comments

• PepeSilviaPepeSilvia Member
    edited April 2017

I use the AWS CLI tool in a shell script that's run via cron. The command is really simple, you just include the name of the file you want to upload, the bucket you want to upload to and it just does it.

However you should consider Backblaze or OVH instead. They're far cheaper, and one of them is better than the other depending on your usage case. They have similar CLI tools I believe.

I'd switch, but at my volume the money saved isn't worth the hassle.

Thanked by 1yomero
  • BharatBBharatB Member, Patron Provider
    edited April 2017

Install aws-cli in your linux and configure your access key and secret key followed by region, then use the following command

aws s3 cp filename.tar.gz s3://bucket-name/

P.S If you don't want to retain a copy locally for saving space you can change cp to mv and that will directly move the file to the bucket.

• akhfaakhfa Member