Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS types, pros and cons for usage
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS types, pros and cons for usage

Hi I am new to VPS. I am looking to get one because I want more flexibility in what my online services (currently I only have a website hosted with siteground.com) offer me.

I have been looking at a number of different providers, what I've seen now is that there are usually VZ and KVM plans, and they both have SSD and SSD-Cached in each type.

I am hoping to use the VPS for a website, VPN and maybe owncloud if possible, so of the different types of plans would I see much of a performance difference between the types, especially for the VPN ability?

Other questions I have are:
Can I run two websites from one VPS? (2 domain names)
Do I have to configure my own email server on a VPS, or is it set up for me? (use my own domain for email)
Is it difficult to change VPS provider once you are set up? Can you do like a disk image download and load it up at another provider? Is it a big hassle to move?

Comments

1. Two websites from one VPS - yes, no problem with virtual domains and SNI if you want SSL.

2. Email server - you can run it yourself but it's a bad idea if you don't know what you're doing. Suggest using hosted email. mxroute.com run by LET's moderator Jarland is a reasonable place to start.

3. Moving stuff between servers is not hard if you know what you're doing, but these questions make it sound like unmanaged VPS isn't the right thing for you if you just want to make your stuff happen, as opposed to exploring a new learning experience.