Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GitLab employee ran rm -rf on production - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

GitLab employee ran rm -rf on production

2»

Comments

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

I was a Unix admin for many years and despite making all the classic stupid mistakes, this particular one is one I never made. An grizzled old vet said "run ls with the same args first" and that advice has served me very well.

However, I was once sitting next to a colleague in the 90s (an era of 2GB SCSI drives) who got up, got coffee, came back to his desk, and said "wow, this rm is still running..." That was a long night.

• I've nuked a server like this before, but never at work.

• Worst I ever did was wake up from going to the bar at lunch and reformatted the wrong "server" hostname thinking it was the ircd dev but actually was the production IRC server

• @Falzo said:
    probably worst thing about that story:

So in other words, out of 5 backup/replication techniques deployed none are working reliably or set up in the first place.

should remind everyone to properly test any backup and restore process they may have in place...

maybe a blessing in disguise to highlight this issue !

• raindog308 said: got up, got coffee, came back to his desk, and said "wow, this rm is still running..."

Thanked by 1Hxxx
  • Honestly this gave them a good PR. With all the "transparency" and live stream, details of steps and processes.

• JustAMacUserJustAMacUser Member
    edited February 2017

@raindog308 said:
    An grizzled old vet said "run ls with the same args first" and that advice has served me very well.

^ This.