Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Evaluate your provider's uplinks
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Evaluate your provider's uplinks

flricharflrichar Member
edited January 2013 in Tutorials

I've been a unix and network admin for a while now. I've had the pleasure of working with plenty of backbone providers, some of them seem better than others. One I absolutely love is Hurricane Electric. Not only do they have a free ipv6 tunnelbroker, you can take their test, I think I passed the sage level a few years ago, but they also have some other great utilties. Check out dns.he.net for some free dns utils. Some of you may already be aware of these awesome tools.

But my favorite is their bgp site bgp.he.net. You can type an ip, subnet, AS number or name in the search box and get tall kinds of good information. I setup a previous employer with an ipv6 subnet, then after I left I've used this tool to find out they decided not to continue advertising it. You can type your provider's name in there and get a feel for who they peer with, how many different connections they have, their IP subnets... it's pretty useful.

Comments

• HE is typically not a popular provider. They are definitely on the cheaper end of the spectrum and have some really crazy routes at times.

• +1 for http://bgp.he.net though.

• Why would I want to spam?

• Guys stop being mean to the new guy! He's just here to share and learn. We all started somewhere.

HE is basically "the" budget provider out there. They do have a market advantage in IPv6 with free transit and all, but their bandwidth quality is really all over the place, complete hit/miss. But at $0.7/mbps on a 1G commit, it's hard not to be tempted to buy.