Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Database Server Questions
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Database Server Questions

Hi all, me and team planning to build web apis service.

i have no experience with this kind of website before, i usually handle website with large traffic not database server.

for starter one of table could be have 1-5 million of rows records and on future maybe have 10 million record. currently we planning use mysql, because im never used nosql / mongodb before. for concurrent process to write to mysql maybe 250-1000. and for query i need executed time average is under 500ms.

my question is what CPU model do you recomend and what backup method do you recomendation, i know its not possible with mysqldump because it will take a much time. and maybe any advice that maybe you ever have experience with this kind of web apis service.

thanks

Comments

• Its not just CPU, depending on the DB type, ram is gonna be needed. And DISK IO is the other big hurdle.
    You will want at least SSD's and heck if it is a small ish size, a ram disk may help it out.

• Hi,
    Switch mysql with mariadb or perconadb, cpu E5- E7
    use SSD as hard drives.
    backup, setup a budget server from ovh, install r1soft, and you have backup :)

• @andreblue said:
    Its not just CPU, depending on the DB type, ram is gonna be needed. And DISK IO is the other big hurdle.
    You will want at least SSD's and heck if it is a small ish size, a ram disk may help it out.

its innodb, what type ram is suitable. and for disk planning use ssd too. currenly im see SYS offer without setup fee, but prefer US location that on LA prefered.

do you have provider and server specs recomendation.