Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Server setup dummies guide
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Server setup dummies guide

StrictlyKashStrictlyKash Member
edited November 2012 in Help

Hey people,

So I'm basically after a dummies guide on how to setup 2 servers, one for a PHP application and the other for the Mysql database, I'm hoping that someone here will be kind enough to help me with this. I've got basic knowledge and I've setup servers in the past, but I'm sure they weren't optimized very well.

Brief
I've got 2 servers, I want to use them to run my PHP application, the main objective is to have a fast, stable and secure application. How do I make the most of these servers? what can be done to optimize them and allow them to handle the most requests per second as possible.

I've always used Apache in the past, so I would prefer to stick with that for now. I usually add on things like APC to help. I would be interested in trying out Varnish aswell, so it would be great if you can incorporate that into the guide.

Equipment
2 x Hetzner EX 4 servers, OS: ubuntu 12.04

Requirements:
- Step-by-step guide on how to setup/optimize a server to run a PHP website. Lets start right from the beginning (I mean right from adding new users, SSH config etc), I'm keen to learn about apache optimization and also how to make the server secure using IP tables etc.

• Step-by-step guide on how to setup/optimize a Mysql server. Again lets start from the beginning, plus I'm interested in how to limit access so only the application can connect to this server. Also what are the best Mysql optimizing tricks, things like how big should the innodb buffer pool be etc.

Reward
- There is a $20 reward for the person willing to help me with this.