Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

NAT VPS? How do they work?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

NAT VPS? How do they work?

I see a lot of mega cheap deals here at http://list.lowendserv.net/ but a lot come with NAT IP instead of a dedicated IP.

Now, I've never worked on NAT IP's before, are they hard work or would it simply mean a shared IP and instead of listening on Port 80, you change the port to the assigned port?

So for example in my nginx server block, if I change port 80 to the one assigned, my website will work?

Thank you very much.

Comments

• spammyspammy Member

Not trying to discourage you but given your level of knowledge it might not be the best options as you have a lot more to adjust to when hosting wordpress sites on NAT VPS.

Also if you are really paranoid about privacy, NAT VPS might be an even worse choice since there is potentially a lot more customers squeezed on one machine and sharing the same port (although if the firewalls/forwarding are configured properly it shouldn't be too much of an issue). (Re: http://lowendtalk.com/discussion/49521/iniz-hosting-or-zeniva-limited-account-was-denied)

• WilliamWilliam Member

Sure, but your visitors of course have to add the port then as well.

• they're so cheap you can jsut buy one and see for yourself :)

• Highly recommended. Cheaper than a pint of beer.

• I am not worried about Privacy of the hosted files if that is the question?

It may not be a WP website could actually be just a html website.

• mikhomikho Member, Host Rep

Many providers of NAT VPS has a reverse proxy script in front which means that you can still serve webpages on port 80.