Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ask users: Would you be interested in a console based control panel?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Ask users: Would you be interested in a console based control panel?

corehostingcorehosting Member
edited August 2012 in General

Hello,

My first post here, so i'll introduce myself quickly. I've been reading anonymously this board for quite a while and i must say that i really like the mood around here :). I've been working for 10 years in the IT industry for small to big companies, and i'm now launching my own hosting service.

While i'm not yet officially launched most of the backend is ready and already hosting a few clients.
I'm still working on my user control panel and i was wondering whether or not users would be interested by a console based control panel, accessible through ssh and/or https (applet/ajax term or the like)??

What do you think? Give me your thoughts :)

Cheers,
-O.

Comments

• AsadAsad Member
    edited August 2012

I've been with a host which did this, it only had pretty simple functionality so I didn't like it. But if the features were there then it would be ok I guess, great for low bandwidth connections. Can't remember the hosts name.

Infact, just gave me an idea for a mini project - use the SolusVM api to make a super simple console based interface for that.

• AlexBarakovAlexBarakov Patron Provider, Veteran

Control panel for what - shared hosting, vps, dedicated servers, etc.?

Also, you can pretty much control everything via SSH already, so if it ahs web front-end would be much better.

• It's a bit of a novelty item. I don't see any real merit beyond that.

• Yeah i should have said it, a control panel for VPS hosting.