Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Change disk on OpenVZ
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Change disk on OpenVZ

DrukpaDrukpa Member

I have a dedicated server with OpenVZ (Centos 5) running few VMs. Currently has a 2x500GB SATA in SW RAID1. Have been noticing a decrease in performance with IO wait times going very high (~30%), causing server loads to increase (upto 10) for a combined total of ~5% of the day. Rest of the times, the loads stays below 1.

The processor is a Intel Xeon e3 1230 with 16GB memory.

Am thinking of replacing the SATA drives with a 2x240 SSD in SW RAID1 if its not too much work.

I am a developer and not a server admin, so my knowledge of server management is just basic/intermediate. Can take care of daily problems on my own by reading tutorials, etc., but am thinking changing disks and migrating data is no small stuff with a lot of risk for data loss. Ofcourse I do have keep backups on a different server.

So what could be the easiest way to achieve what I want?

Replace disk, migrate everything with the minimal amount of down time.
I don't want to setup a different server with the SSDs, setup everything and then move data from the old server. Doing that would have to change my IP address and stuff.

Comments

• wychwych Member

Is the server colo'd or rented?

It may be easier biting the bullet for a month and getting an additional box, that way you can just migrate them.

• linuxthefishlinuxthefish Member
    edited April 2015

Check smart data for the drives first, I see a lot of drives that go mega slow before actually failing!

smartctl -a /dev/sda, then smartctl -a /dev/sdb and look for any reallocated sectors or any failed values.