Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice Wanted - Documenting VPSs for Beginners
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Advice Wanted - Documenting VPSs for Beginners

emgemg Veteran
edited April 2013 in Help

I admit it, I am a beginner when it comes to VPSs. There is much for me to learn regarding VPS configuration, management, etc. Along the way, I have encountered many people who are in worse shape than me. They want a Linux VPS, but don't understand anything about Linux, Internet-facing servers, or anything else. I would like to share my knowledge and experiences as I go through the VPS learning curve, to reduce the pain and struggle for others who follow in my footsteps.

When I signed up for my first VPS, I started a blog on the WordPress website, but was not happy with it at all. Frankly, it sucked. It looked like a reverse order diary (newest entries first). It was a poor tool to help beginners get going. The long entries were difficult to read, because you had to start at the bottom, then read down, then scroll up to the next article, then read down, and so on. I tried setting up the blog with separate pages, but felt that I was going down the wrong path.

I need a way to host standalone articles, each on its own page, with links to related articles, and an easy way for readers to find what they are looking for. I have seen websites that their owners called blogs, but they have a "magazine article" look - each entry on its own web page. Every time I looked at free public blog websites (e.g., WordPress, Blogspot, etc.), they look like reverse diaries with many entries per page, which is not what I need. I may be looking in the wrong place - a blog may not be the solution to my needs.