Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

hosting 2domains+ on a vps
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

hosting 2domains+ on a vps

Okay so the thing is i'm not a vps expert and let's just say i'm getting started into managing my own vps.

So i've installed on my Linux ubuntu 14.04 vps, nginx - mysql and php. All properly working.
Now i wanna host two domains on it, i changed both domain's nameservers to the vps's ip.

I checked some tutorials but i'm getting a little bit confused. Something to do with /sites-available/default ?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Install vestacp on it and you can manage your hosting needs easier.

• IkoulaIkoula Member, Host Rep

Hello,

Where do you manage your domain dns zones ?

• @mrdarki said:
    Okay so the thing is i'm not a vps expert

Expertise is not required, but a decent admin background is. It's a steep learning curve if you don't have a lot of experience putzing around on the command line as a regular user.

I checked some tutorials but i'm getting a little bit confused. Something to do with /sites-available/default ?

Sounds more like an Apache configuration than nginx. If you can't puzzle out the tutorials, you might be in over your head. You want to set up virtual servers.

• If it's Apache then what you need is virtualhost, i dont know what is called on nginx.

• painfreepcpainfreepc Member
    edited November 2016

I think it's been over a year since I last logged in here,

As someone has already stated the easiest way to manage your server is "vestacp"
    It's ridiculously easy to install and it just works I have used it for over a year at digital ocean and I have not had any problems.