Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Noob questions on storage
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Noob questions on storage

migasllmigasll Member
edited November 2016 in Help

Hello,
I'm new to managing my own infrastructure and I'd like some input from more experienced people.
I have a vps that has 2gb ram and 40gb ssd with:
GOGS git repository (~50mb ram)
NEXUS repository (~1gb ram... YES THAT MUCH)
Jenkins (~300mb ram)
These 3 are run from docker containers.

I sometimes have other docker containers that are basically jenkins workers or other small tests I'm doing.
Then I have some small things like openvpn, fail2ban and stuff like that.

Everything runs great, I have enough CPU and memory.
The problem is storage, of course. I'll rapidly run out of storage.

So my question is if it's stupid to run GOGS, NEXUS and JENKINS containers from my main VPS but then remote mount their storage folders on a 3€/month time4vps 1Tb vps.

And also, I'm very concerned about backups. My set up right now is like this:
I rsync my vps 3 important folders (nexus, jenkins and gogs) to 3 windows shared folders of my desktop, through cifs, through my openvpn. I have enough storage on my desktop so this works. Is this stupid too?

Thanks

Comments

• alaningusalaningus Member
    edited November 2016

Minimum 1TB at time4vps now I'm afraid

• AnthonySmithAnthonySmith Member, Patron Provider
    edited November 2016

I guess the most simple way forward for this is to use sshfs, as your main VPS is KVM so this is fine however I think time4vps is OpenVZ which will limit your options unless they are happy to enable fuse for you.

If they will then yes you could create a directory and mount the time4vps storage on your kvm vps as slow storage.