Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What do you use your server for? / What to do with with idling VPS?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What do you use your server for? / What to do with with idling VPS?

Mostly use mine for websites but have a couple annual servers spare, what would be a good use for them?

Comments

• trewqtrewq Administrator, Patron Provider
    edited October 2016

Ah, the old "I just joined" thread. I'm pretty sure most of us have one of these, it's probably best to search. I was going to link mine but it's pretty cringe worthy on my part...

• K4Y5K4Y5 Member
    edited October 2016

Oh man, this reminds me of the time when I was a newbie around these parts. I still have way too many cheap VPS from deals that were supposedly too good to pass, that just idle in all their glory, reminding me of their idling prowess and my tumultuous relationship with self control.

When I feel guilty about not using those VPS much, I simply add them to a DNS cluster, or install pi-hole or plain old OpenVPN to browse the net with relative safety.

Sadly, I have graduated from buying VPS that idle to dedis that idle harder. But, I guess that is how it goes for people who spend too much time around these parts :P

• rocket said: but have a couple annual servers spare, what would be a good use for them?

Maybe backups of your in use VPSs would be a good idea?

• What I do with an idling server? Interesting... Well, it just says that: idling!

• I am confused as to why the majority of people here buy VPS when they do not have a need for it.

• K4Y5K4Y5 Member
    edited October 2016

@varwww said:
    I am confused as to why the majority of people here buy VPS when they do not have a need for it.

Why, you ask?