Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Blocking traffic
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Blocking traffic

yowmamasitayowmamasita Member
edited December 2011 in Help

I'm running a vpn server at an unmanaged vps and i want to block high bandwidth sites like rapidshare mediafire youtube etc because I only got 100gb bw. My friends suggested me a SQUID proxy will do but I tried and failed. Yes, I am a noob and sorry if I'm asking a stupid question.

I also want to block all ports except web traffic (http and https only right?) and vpn traffic (what port is that? :() but still I'm hopeless.

Hope you guys spare me some of your time and help me solve this. Thanks a lot!

Comments

• kalamkalam Member
    edited December 2011

Which vps provider only has 10GB of bandwidth?

• @kalam said: Which vps provider only has 10GB of bandwidth?

sorry my bad it's supposed to be a hundred (dam manicure)

• @yowmamasita said: dam manicure

LOL!

Thanked by 1[Deleted User]
  • @yowmamasita said: sorry my bad it's supposed to be a hundred (dam manicure)

Are you male/female or he-she? I've never ever had a manicure as I own a pair of scissors.

• What VPN software are you running on your vps?

• JacobJacob Member
    edited December 2011

You could block inbound traffic from these sites, You can do this by pinging the domain and then blocking all the IPs in IPTables.

Thanked by 1yowmamasita
  • If you want to block all flash video try blocking port 1935 tcp/udp

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/164/tn_16499.html

Thanked by 1yowmamasita
  • @efball said: If you want to block all flash video try blocking port 1935 tcp/udp

Which won't help with all those private or illegal movie sites, as they use port 80/443 since they don't have a Flash Media Server.