Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Understanding a Wordpress botnet code
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Understanding a Wordpress botnet code

leapswitchleapswitch Patron Provider, Veteran

After reading this interesting post - https://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/90266/anatomy-of-a-wordpress-botnet/p1 , I tried going through recent files uploaded by hackers to vulnerable Wordpress or other CMSes. I am not a developer , and I am finding it very hard to understand this random code .

http://pastebin.com/cSy8HWcj

Can someone help me understand this code and then maybe all of us could try to hack into these botnets ?

Thanked by 1cassa

Comments

• MadMad Member

It's encrypted, it's almost impossible to decrypt it.

• MikePTMikePT Moderator, Patron Provider, Veteran

Definitely encrypted.

Not a programmer myself, maybe @GCat will look at it?

Thanked by 1GCat
  • leapswitchleapswitch Patron Provider, Veteran

If it's encrypted, in order to run it on the server some loader will be required (ioncube, zend, sourceguardian etc) , else how will it execute its malicious code ?

• MadMad Member

It's not needed a loader, it will run like a normal javascript/php script.

• It's not encrypted. It's obfuscated - big difference.

It's reversible but will take time.

• pbgbenpbgben Member, Host Rep

@BradND said:
    It's not encrypted. It's obfuscated - big difference.

Correct, but reversing is a manual process and would require somone to work out what each function does in order to guess the correct naming.

• MadMad Member

@BradND said:

That's correct. It's obfuscation, not encryption (that's what I meant).