Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
Review Catalyst Host
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

Review Catalyst Host

apavaapava Member
edited March 2013 in Reviews

Hello Community;

I've been working with CatalystHost.com, are an excellent company, with support Jarlan and Ryan is always super attentive to any concerns and very responsible, the response time of the support ticket is less than 10 min I say in my case :) , all scheduled maintenance the advertised time, their uptime vps are amazing, I've had an occasional problem but have always been alien to them and they have always helped with the solution.

The VPS I have with them or with which I started was with the Trenta plan and I have made ​​some modifications of Ram and processor cores. I give you a snapshot of the performance of my vps

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/7678/rendimientovps.png

Their prices are very comfortable; your support Unexpected gem, really very good option.

Edit: This is other VPS Micro $17 annually (128 ram, 10 gb hhd, 1 cpu, 300 gb transfer)

http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/4528/rendimientovpspequeo.png

regards

Comments

  • jarjar Provider

    Thanks brother! You've been equally great to work with. When people cooperate and work with us best they can, there are very few limits to what we'll do to look out for them.

  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider
    edited March 2013

    Thanks for the kind words @apava, we appreciate your positive feedback of our services and everything Jarland said ^^ :)

  • @apava said: their uptime vps are amazing

    I've been reading good words about Catalyst Host.
    Though if you're praising their uptime I hope to get more details rather than a 2 days in the screenshot.

    I'm here to collect your heart

  • jarjar Provider
    edited March 2013

    13:30:40 up 20 days, 23:49, 1 user, load average: 1.09, 1.92, 1.73

    18:23:15 up 51 days, 19:44, 1 user, load average: 1.64, 1.28, 1.12

    Had to reboot 20 days ago. Reboot planned early Sunday morning to address some stability issues with the kernel. I don't like reboots but hopefully this is the last one for a long time. The other was the power outage on Incero racks, but the new system has A+B power.

  • xBytezxBytez Member
    edited March 2013

    I might try CatalystHost, let me see how much it costs...

    Edit: nah, It seems to expensive for what I have now.

  • One of my DNS cluster nodes with them:

     21:28:30 up 51 days, 19:27,  1 user,  load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
    

    Monitoring node:

     11:29:17 up 39 days, 20:47,  1 user,  load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
    
  • apavaapava Member

    @DalComp said: I've been reading good words about Catalyst Host.

    Though if you're praising their uptime I hope to get more details rather than a 2 days in the screenshot.

    I understand;

    As I said in the review the few problems encountered errors have been mine, give me a few moments capture another climb another vps I have with them

  • DalCompDalComp Member
    edited March 2013

    @apava said: As I said in the review the few problems encountered errors have been mine, give me a few moments capture another climb another vps I have with them

    Just share your experience with them. How long you have been with them and how are they holding up the 99% uptime guarantee.

    Output from "uptime" command is not really reliable anyway, as reboot, maintenance, and user-reinstall happen all the time.

    I'm here to collect your heart

  • wdqwdq Member

    @DalComp As I said in the review I wrote last week I have been with CatalystHost for five months now and besides myself rebooting my own VPS every once in a while for things like running an update I only have memories of the node going down once or twice. And when they were down they were only down for a few minutes.

    It seems that they are pretty much only down when there is some issue with the datacenter like when the power went out a couple of months ago, or when CatalystHost wants to go in and have some scheduled maintenance.

  • jarjar Provider
    edited March 2013

    Against all suggestions not to, we host our website on our own services. There is discussion about changing this, but for now it stays true. So this particular pingdom page can be looked at as a reflection of our uptime: http://stats.pingdom.com/mw1dqfq9k9pf/598067

    Just for what it's worth. In this time frame it could be called luck, objectively. Our hope is by not cutting certain corners it comes back as a little more than just luck.

  • apavaapava Member

    @DalComp said: Just share your experience with them. How long you have been with them and how are they holding up the 99% uptime guarantee.

    Output from "uptime" command is not really reliable anyway, as reboot, maintenance, and user-reinstall happen all the time.

    This will be the four months with them, the first month was 100% uptime any lost packages monitored by Pingdom, the second and third month was 99.97 99.99 due to a failure in an application that I have stayed. :)

  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    Are their support really good?

  • @jarland @ryanarp You're just in the US atm, right? If so, any plans to expand into Europe?

  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider

    @krs360 yep right now we are in the US, we currently don't have any immediate plans to venture into Europe. Then again who knows, it can always happen.

    @jcaleb I can't speak for @apava, but I thought I would tag him to see if he would like to expand on that. He mention support briefly in his review, but didn't go into details.

  • apavaapava Member

    @jcaleb said: Are their support really good?

    @ryanarp said: @jcaleb I can't speak for @apava, but I thought I would tag him to see if he would like to expand on that. He mention support briefly in his review, but didn't go into details.

    What if it's good?

    Personally of all companies we have hired, this has been the best support service, from purchase through implementation, and Ryan Jarland always aware of everything from the high consumption of resources to backup, as I said before my vps interruptions failures have been mine, but thanks to the support I have solved. I'm happy :)

  • jarjar Provider

    @jcaleb said: Are their support really good?

    We're actually pretty bad. I paid @apava to say otherwise.

    In before someone thinks I'm serious :P

  • @krs360 said: If so, any plans to expand into Europe?

    I'd like them to expand to the Best Coast first..

    "We are in a prison drama. This is like The Shawshank Redemption, only with more tunneling through shit and no fucking redemption."
  • apavaapava Member

    Excuse my English :)

  • flyfly Member

    @ihatetonyy said: I'd like them to expand to the Best Coast first..

    oh you mean high-latency-to-everywhere coast?

  • jarjar Provider
    edited March 2013

    @ihatetonyy said: I'd like them to expand to the Best Coast first..

    I want to be in a west coast or west coast-ish datacenter that no one else here is in. Somewhere with a clean slate rep in the LEB market to be judged from a fresh perspective ;)

  • @fly said: oh you mean high-latency-to-everywhere coast?

    Not within glorious Commiefornia, at least.

    "We are in a prison drama. This is like The Shawshank Redemption, only with more tunneling through shit and no fucking redemption."
  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider

    @ihatetonyy said: Not within glorious Commiefornia, at least.

    No desire on my end to be in California :) I am sure when we find a place on the west coast, we will be sure to let everyone know. Just has to meet the standard of quality we are happy with in Dallas.

  • shovenoseshovenose Member, Provider

    Our New VPS service will be in CA which is great so it's not like it's expensive here.

  • jarjar Provider

    Cali has some nice stuff, I just wanna make a break for what's typical and do something out of the ordinary ;)

  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    @jarland said: We're actually pretty bad. I paid @apava to say otherwise.

    I knew it!

  • @jarland said: do something out of the ordinary ;)

     

    @jarland said: datacenter that no one else here is in.

    Well, I'm sure there's a datacenter or two in Fresno. Certainly an out of the ordinary location..

    "We are in a prison drama. This is like The Shawshank Redemption, only with more tunneling through shit and no fucking redemption."
  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    @apava said: Personally of all companies we have hired, this has been the best support service, from purchase through implementation, and Ryan Jarland always aware of everything from the high consumption of resources to backup, as I said before my vps interruptions failures have been mine, but thanks to the support I have solved. I'm happy :)

    Agree now

  • @jarland How about Alaska? :p

    Yes I am picking on you Jarland but it would be cool if possible. Expensive most likely but cool none the less. I have not even looked into it. The location just popped into my head and I had to throw it at you.

    Catch me over at Primary DNS. If you want to chat I am done with this cesspool.

  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider

    @jcaleb said: Agree now

    I will admit you sure did throw us for a loop. The dead giveaway should have been that you were really good about opening new tickets. Most seem to just keep reply to presales ticket :) Anyways glad you got to experience our service and glad to keep you on board :)

  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider

    @AuroraZ said: Expensive most likely but cool none the less.

    Well we could save money on keeping the nodes cool. :P

  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    @ryanarp said: I will admit you sure did throw us for a loop. The dead giveaway should have been that you were really good about opening new tickets. Most seem to just keep reply to presales ticket :) Anyways glad you got to experience our service and glad to keep you on board :)

    I just hope I was able to try more request that need you guys to actually do work than just answer. E.g. help me migrate to a new location with all my data kept, or configure webserver for me and such =)

  • jarjar Provider

    @AuroraZ said: Yes I am picking on you Jarland but it would be cool if possible. Expensive most likely but cool none the less. I have not even looked into it. The location just popped into my head and I had to throw it at you.

    Funny thing, I was thinking about how interesting that would be the other day. Seems to be nothing there :(

    I notice that Oregon seems to be an area that isn't quite dead in the VPS market, but also not overrun like some of the locations we see here so often.

  • jarjar Provider

    @jcaleb said: I just hope I was able to try more request that need you guys to actually do work than just answer. E.g. help me migrate to a new location with all my data kept, or configure webserver for me and such =)

    You'd probably slap us if you saw how much work we've done for clients that falls well outside of unmanaged. Sometimes I wonder if we do too much, but then I realize that if we're attracting a fair amount of people who want a VPS but don't know how to use it, maybe we're staring directly at something that we need to resolve rather than push away. A good system for educating these clients would be ideal. Wiki, etc.

  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    I should have been more patient and ticketed more

  • jarjar Provider
    edited March 2013

    @jcaleb said: I should have been more patient and ticketed more

    I won't lie, you caught us in a more hands off period. Probably would have directly offered to be of more assistance, just a lot of things happening and Ryan flying down to Texas. Not that I'm not happy with how it went, but certainly when time allows we try to be as helpful as we can. Kind of glad you caught us at what I'd hope is our worst, because that's kind of the baseline.

  • @jarland said: You'd probably slap us if you saw how much work we've done for clients that falls well outside of unmanaged. Sometimes I wonder if we do too much, but then I realize that if we're attracting a fair amount of people who want a VPS but don't know how to use it, maybe we're staring directly at something that we need to resolve rather than push away. A good system for educating these clients would be ideal. Wiki, etc.

    Shh!!! Keep all of our awesome projects on the DL until we go public!!!

    Erm... I mean... Hi people!

    Catalyst Host - Pie Approved!
  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    Public? you mean publicly listed?

  • @jcaleb said: Public? you mean publicly listed?

    Publicly announced?

    Catalyst Host - Pie Approved!
  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    @HalfEatenPie said: Publicly announced?

    Sorry boss, I read too much bloomberg

  • @jcaleb said: Sorry boss, I read too much bloomberg

    Haha its fine. We have some great projects that we're going to start working on in the next few weeks. If its up to our standards we'll let you know!

    Catalyst Host - Pie Approved!
  • jcalebjcaleb Moderator

    If you need help, maybe I can lend some hands.

  • apavaapava Member

    @HalfEatenPie said: Haha its fine. We have some great projects that we're going to start working on in the next few weeks. If its up to our standards we'll let you know!

    I like ;)

  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider

    @jcaleb said: If you need help, maybe I can lend some hands.

    This seems to have got lost in LET land. We will for sure let you know if we need a hand :)

  • ryanarpryanarp Member, Provider

    @apava said: I like ;)

    Up to our standards is key, We have one project I would love to get off the ground, but waiting for the right opportunity.

Sign In or Register to comment.