Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Rage4 Review
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Rage4 Review

BunnySpeedBunnySpeed Member, Host Rep
edited April 2016 in Reviews

I have been using Rage4 DNS for various projects for the last 3-4 years and I guess I decided to write a bit about them :D

Reliability (5/5):

In the past 3 years I don't recall any downtime caused by their DNS, at least one that I'm aware of. Even if there were any problems that I didn't hear of, they must have been minimal.

Features (5/5):

Maybe I'm biased here, but they have just everything that we needed + some extra stuff that looks nice but I never looked into.

GeoDNS Routing (5/5):

There were some problems in the past cause by Google's DNS that broke their GeoDNS routing, but it has since improved. Except for China, the global routing is almost always spot on. Also their routing configuration is incredibly powerful.

Price (2/5):

I am not sure where they pull their query counts, but these are incredibly high. They changed how the queries are counted somewhere down the road, but I'm still not sure if these numbers are correct. On top of that, their current tier is 2€/mil queries which is absurd to say the least. So 50mil queries is 100€/month. After that the price is 1€/mil which is still pretty damn high, especially considering that Amazon Route 53 charges ~0.615€/mil from the start and then ~0.3€/mil. And this is ONLY if you use GeoDNS, otherwise services such as Amazon or DnsMadeEasy are even cheaper. Only at the 2500€/month does the service really get viable if you are a huge user.

The free tier is nice, but it doesn't last very long, especially thanks to the weird query counts.