Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[i] vs. [span] for icons.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

[i] vs. [span] for icons.

nepsneps Member
edited April 2016 in General

I see people everywhere using the <i> tag for icons, as in:

<i class="fa '.$icon.'"></i>

I personally think this is really sloppy and a horrifying example of "who cares what's underneath, as long as it works?" Personally, I always use <span>, which feels much more appropriate.

Anyway, what does LET use?

Comments

• Four20Four20 Member
    edited April 2016

mostly 'i', cuz as u said, who cares.

• FranciscoFrancisco Top Host, Host Rep, Veteran

i for icon

Francisco

Thanked by 1GCat
  • NekkiNekki Veteran

I'd use span but a lot of my background is in making websites accessible for those with impairments (particularly visual impairments), so I'm used to making sure my HTML used correctly.

• @Four20 said:
    mostly 'i', cuz as u said, who cares.

Tl;dr: neither, you should use the img element.

We should care about a more semantic web, make sure that people with impairments are able to use our sites (accessibility), and build documents that are standard compliant and future proof. The W3C standard for the i element says:

The i element represents a span of text in an alternate voice or mood, or otherwise offset from the normal prose in a manner indicating a different quality of text, such as a taxonomic designation, a technical term, an idiomatic phrase from another language, transliteration, a thought, or a ship name in Western texts.