Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need help for starting hosting business
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

SaahibSaahib Host Rep, Veteran
edited January 2013 in Help

Hi,

I am a coder and gradually I have few clients to those I am providing coding to hosting / domain everything. I think now it is time I should start my own hosting business properly as for me it is now a mess to manage them without using proper billing software as well site. I feel if I have a proper hosting site, current client may use my other hosting offer which otherwise I tell them if they ask for.

I want to do following:
1. Offer shared hosting (cpanel based)
2. Offer VPS on my site
3. Offer dedicated server

Obviously I will only resale in beginning but for shared hosting I will either use VPS or a Dedicated box.

Currently I use own few dedicated server and some VPS (thanks to LEB , after coming to this place I started using VPS). I am fine with all providers I use and even using some from 5 years or more.

So here are my doubts..
1. Should I host my own site on dedicated box or on a VPS ..(which will also host billing software)
2. Which billing software should I use (considering hostbill owned license)
3. What are the ways that my clients can't get information about parent company (through IP whois etc.)
4. Which will be best.. VPS or dedicated box for offering shared hosting (since it will take a little while to get in profits so want to avoid any non-justified expenses).
5. Should I host clients of site on that dedicated box where I host my own site (won't it be security issue incase of client's site get compromised due to outdated script etc. (and that pretty common)).