Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
My Hostigation 128mb KVM VPS Review - Excellent!
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

My Hostigation 128mb KVM VPS Review - Excellent!

fanfan Member
edited November 2011 in General

Just got my Hostigation from @net, and @miTgiB did process the account transfer and location migration from SC to LA pretty quickly, first thank you two. :)

This 128mb kvm VPS is now on node x6la01, it's running smoothly.

I guess the CPU is an AMD one:

cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 6
model name : QEMU Virtual CPU version 0.9.1
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 3400.190
cache size : 32 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 4
wp : yes
flags : fpu de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx lm up pni hypervisor
bogomips : 6800.38
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

For the CPU benchmark score Intel CPU's are superior but this AMD one doesn't seem to be slow for me, everything runs quickly. Actually I don't feel any difference from an Intel E3 box elsewhere.

Disk I/O is impressive (ext4):

[email protected]:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=4k oflag=dsync && rm test
4096+0 records in
4096+0 records out
268435456 bytes (268 MB) copied, 6.19022 s, 43.4 MB/s
[email protected]:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync && rm test
16384+0 records in
16384+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 6.32504 s, 170 MB/s

Network:

Download from cachefly:

--2011-11-28 17:12:19-- http://cachefly.cachefly.net/100mb.test
Resolving cachefly.cachefly.net... 205.234.175.175
Connecting to cachefly.cachefly.net|205.234.175.175|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
Saving to: `/dev/null'

100%[==================================================================================================================>] 104,857,600 29.9M/s in 3.4s

2011-11-28 17:12:22 (29.4 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]

Download by other VPS's from this box:

--2011-11-28 17:13:39-- http://206.253.165.47/100mb.bin
Connecting to 206.253.165.***:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
Saving to: `/dev/null'

100%[==================================================================================================================>] 104,857,600 4.44M/s in 23s

2011-11-28 17:14:03 (4.27 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]

[email protected]:~# wget http://206.253.165./100mb.bin -O /dev/null
--2011-11-28 17:14:57-- http://206.253.165.
/100mb.bin
Connecting to 206.253.165.***:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
Saving to: `/dev/null'

100%[==================================================================================================================>] 104,857,600 1.82M/s in 60s

2011-11-28 17:15:58 (1.66 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]

Conclusion:

@miTgiB does a good job in his KVM offering, and I think I did make the right choice. :P The only thing I feel a bit weird is SSH tunneling from this VPS to Youtube videos loads several seconds slower than my other VPS's, it's slightly better after changing the DNS to 4.2.2.1 (which solves the SSH slowdown on BuyVM), I need to go further to figure out what exactly the problem is. OpenVPN is perfectly fine though.

Thanked by 2Asim drmike

Comments

  • Really nice review, I'm glad you are enjoying it!

    Described as "Biggest. Troll. Ever." by cowboy Francisco -Now 2 times!

  • Hostigation is the best provider in KVM, really excellent services.

    Nice to know you are happy with your KVM VPS

  • No no, bitcable rulz too. xD

    Thanked by 1Bitcable
  • @fan said: For the CPU benchmark score Intel CPU's are superior but this AMD one doesn't seem to be slow for me, everything runs quickly. Actually I don't feel any difference from an Intel E3 box elsewhere.

    vendor_id : GenuineIntel

    I'm pretty sure it's an E3-1270.

  • Nice review, Hostigation sounds great.

    @miTgiB : how many nodes do you have in each locations?

  • @Kairus said: I'm pretty sure it's an E3-1270.

    Indeed it is a E3-1270, x6la01 is the 1st KVM node I shipped to Los Angeles and I originally shipped an AMD X6 1090T in the node, but for some reason was having all sorts of overheating issues, so drop shipped a SuperMicro X9SCA and E3-1270 from NewEgg to replace it, all KVM nodes have been E3-1270 since, I have one node in South Carolina, kvm02, that is still an AMD X6 1090T, and one KVM node in Los Angeles that is a dual L5520

    @bobinfo said: @miTgiB : how many nodes do you have in each locations?

    That's like asking your neighbor how much money they make.

    Hostigation High Resource Hosting - SolusVM KVM VPS / Proxmox OpenVZ VPS- Low Cost Comodo SSL Certificates
  • @miTgiB said: That's like asking your neighbor how much money they make.

    But I know for my neighbor already. :/

    ( You share your bandwidth graph but not the number of servers related, makes it difficult to have an idea of an average VPS node consumption from that :) - though I understand that you don't want to answer, it's fine )

  • InfinityInfinity Member, Provider

    @yomero KiloServe rules too but all 3 are great. :P

    Cablestreet - London based ISP - Managed Solutions, Carrier Services, Colocation, Dedicated Servers, VMs, and more..

  • @miTgiB said: Indeed it is a E3-1270, x6la01 is the 1st KVM node I shipped to Los Angeles and I originally shipped an AMD X6 1090T in the node, but for some reason was having all sorts of overheating issues, so drop shipped a SuperMicro X9SCA and E3-1270 from NewEgg to replace it, all KVM nodes have been E3-1270 since, I have one node in South Carolina, kvm02, that is still an AMD X6 1090T, and one KVM node in Los Angeles that is a dual L5520

    My wrong, I didn't see the Intel mark, so AMD is losing everywhere now? :P

  • @miTgiB said: That's like asking your neighbor how much money they make.

    Hey neighbor. How much money do you make? :D

Sign In or Register to comment.