Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

geolocated query
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

geolocated query

is it possible achieve such configuration with DNS where the DNS server will select the server based on the clients geo location ?

e.g say a visitor from europe visits a website xyz.com and the DNS server selects server 1.1.1.1 which is based in Europe
and when a visitor from us visits it loads from 2.2.2.2 which is based in us?

Comments

• deployvmdeployvm Member, Host Rep
    edited December 2015

I'm sure you need an Anycast DNS with geo location support*

Some providers call it GeoDNS**. Amazon may be able to provide this.

You could also try dediserve DNS, but I have never used it before...
    https://manage.dediserve.com/knowledgebase/article/225/do-you-provide-dns-/

@gbshouse - My apologies. I should of been more specific. Services that employ Anycasting could also have geo location support, but not necessary all. It is true that they are two different features.

• @deployvm said:
    I'm sure you need an Anycast DNS.

Some providers call it GeoDNS. Amazon may be able to provide this.

say I have multiple any cast DNS server setupped with different 'A' record at each or more than one 'A' record each. so what will happen basically ?

@RockBeltHOST said:
    say I have multiple any cast DNS server setupped with different 'A' record at each or more than one 'A' record each. so what will happen basically ?

If the DNS service is able to determine the origin (country) of the IP address it is serving, then it should route it to the closest destination.

As the topology you have said:

You have 2 A records.
    1. Australia PoP
    2. UK PoP