Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advertise on LowEndTalk.com
[Review] CraftYourBox 128MB Plan
New on LowEndTalk? Please read our 'Community Rules' by clicking on it in the right menu!

[Review] CraftYourBox 128MB Plan

eastoncheastonch Member
edited January 2013 in General

Hi,

Jordy from CraftYourBox recently gave me some login details for a 128MB VM plan that the company offers, thanks for the VM and I've done a quick review on it.

FreeVPS.us Bench

 
[email protected]:~# wget freevps.us/downloads/bench.sh -O - -o /dev/null|bash
CPU model :  Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           X3440  @ 2.53GHz
Number of cores : 1
CPU frequency :  2533.522 MHz
Total amount of ram : 128 MB
Total amount of swap : 0 MB
System uptime :   39 min,
Download speed from CacheFly: 11.2MB/s
Download speed from Linode, Atlanta GA: 6.03MB/s
Download speed from Linode, Dallas, TX: 8.42MB/s
Download speed from Linode, Tokyo, JP: 7.62MB/s
Download speed from Linode, London, UK: 2.63MB/s
Download speed from Leaseweb, Haarlem, NL: 7.08MB/s
Download speed from Softlayer, Singapore: 6.59MB/s
Download speed from Softlayer, Seattle, WA: 11.0MB/s
Download speed from Softlayer, San Jose, CA: 11.2MB/s
Download speed from Softlayer, Washington, DC: 10.3MB/s
I/O speed :  90.3 MB/s

Tracert to my OVH Node

 
[email protected]:~# traceroute pma.chriseaston.info
traceroute to pma.chriseaston.info (5.39.77.207), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  172.26.15.130 (172.26.15.130)  0.029 ms  0.011 ms  0.009 ms
 2  10.220.20.1 (10.220.20.1)  1.755 ms  1.756 ms 10.220.21.1 (10.220.21.1)  0.131 ms
 3  108.170.0.26 (108.170.0.26)  0.124 ms 108.170.0.22 (108.170.0.22)  0.143 ms 108.170.0.14 (108.170.0.14)  0.124 ms
 4  10.140.2.22 (10.140.2.22)  0.180 ms  0.175 ms xe-2-0-0.phx10.ip4.tinet.net (216.221.159.29)  0.812 ms
 5  xe-10-2-0.lax20.ip4.tinet.net (89.149.182.46)  10.607 ms  10.836 ms  10.598 ms
 6  xe-11-3-0.edge1.LosAngeles6.level3.net (4.68.62.1)  79.790 ms  78.753 ms  78.709 ms
 7  vlan80.csw3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.144.190)  10.134 ms vlan90.csw4.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.144.254)  10.138 ms xe-11-3-0.edge1.LosAngeles6.level3.net (4.68.62.1)  78.683 ms
 8  ae-73-73.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.137.37)  10.104 ms ae-93-93.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.137.45)  10.072 ms vlan90.csw4.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.144.254)  10.973 ms
 9  ae-73-73.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.69.137.37)  9.964 ms ae-3-3.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.132.9)  18.465 ms  18.720 ms
10  ae-3-3.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.132.9)  18.663 ms ae-61-61.csw1.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.153.2)  18.392 ms ae-3-3.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.132.9)  18.513 ms
11  ae-61-61.csw1.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.153.2)  18.357 ms ae-1-60.edge1.SanJose3.Level3.net (4.69.152.16)  19.175 ms ae-81-81.csw3.SanJose1.Level3.net (4.69.153.10)  18.539 ms
12  snj-1-6k.ca.us (178.32.135.21)  64.805 ms ae-2-70.edge1.SanJose3.Level3.net (4.69.152.80)  19.539 ms ae-4-90.edge1.SanJose3.Level3.net (4.69.152.208)  19.109 ms
13  * dal-1-6k.tx.us (178.32.135.151)  65.778 ms *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  rbx-g1-a9.fr.eu (94.23.122.66)  159.762 ms 198.27.73.203 (198.27.73.203)  157.587 ms *
17  rbx-g1-a9.fr.eu (94.23.122.66)  159.410 ms * vss-9b-6k.fr.eu (178.33.100.72)  159.799 ms
18  vss-9b-6k.fr.eu (178.33.100.72)  160.043 ms vss-9a-6k.fr.eu (91.121.131.154)  160.063 ms *
19  ks3264804.kimsufi.com (5.39.77.207)  159.599 ms  159.264 ms  159.564 ms

DD Test

 
[email protected]:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test.file bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync;rm -f test.file
16384+0 records in
16384+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 11.5932 s, 92.6 MB/s
[email protected]:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test.file bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync;rm -f test.file
16384+0 records in
16384+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 11.5533 s, 92.9 MB/s
[email protected]:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test.file bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync;rm -f test.file
16384+0 records in
16384+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 11.5529 s, 92.9 MB/s


92.8MB/s Average

Overall experience so far.

At the moment, I've only used this for about half an hour, it's running quite smooth, doesnt seem too much load on the node; alright speeds considering they're on the west coast and I'm in the UK, (170ms).
Looks like a 100Mbit port, however I've been told that it's a 1Gbit port for the node.
Jordy has told me there's a upcoming deal on LEB shortly, hopefully something nice, cheap and effective.

My only gripe is that it's on a RAID 1 with two disks, resulting in reduced IO speed; however still perfectly acceptable for site hosting or even some Game Services.

And ofcourse that it's using the older series Xeon 3440. I'd much prefer to see an E5 series or even E3. Either way; it's an alright performer and I'd reccomend it moreso on the enthusiasm of Jordy.

Thanks,
Chris.

Security Consultant

Sign In or Register to comment.