Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Internet-facing Windows Server OK?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Internet-facing Windows Server OK?

raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

A friend and I want to try out an idea which involves Windows Server + IIS. I was thinking to get a Windows Server VPS (hi @Francisco) but I've never admin'd WS.

I'm a pro for Linux admin and know the universal concepts (don't turn on services you don't need, check what's facing with nmap, etc.) but not specifically WS.

If I stand up WS 2012, only open 80/443, and patch it...how safe is that? Anything I should know?

I could stand up a Linux VPS and proxy the web over local network so the WS is completely unavailable to the Internet except for when I open up RDP, but I'm thinking that any attack against IIS will get passed through regardless.

Comments

• ToggledNSToggledNS Member
    edited November 2015

Well, it's okay, as long as you lock it down, make sure it's up to date, windows is a common attack target since a lot of people forget to ensure proper security is implemented. WS 2012, with IIS, just make sure IIS is up to date, if you use older versions there's some bugs, there's one I know of not patched in the latest IIS that is a instant BSOD (reported, awaiting patch).

If you plan to RDP into it, force RDP onto another port, if you want you can throw a firewall in front of it, and whitelist IP's allowed to connect via RDP for extra security.

Edit: and regardless to if you proxy the traffic, anyone who scan's for IP's can scan your RDP, brute force it if need.

Thanked by 1raindog308
  • risharderisharde Patron Provider, Veteran
    edited November 2015